Help me with some DIY projects in a beautiful pre-civil war farmhouse in a quiet zone WV, USA

  • Favorito 128 vezes
  • Última atividade: 23 mai. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    April, 2024 update!

    Hey workawayers! We've survived the winter, it's been a lot, a lot of rain in Appalachia. We've had snow storm just around the solar eclipse early April and there are more winter storms forecasted. Last frost date on my elevation is May, 27. Everything is just getting to bloom. Lot's of work was done last year - new water softening system and reverse osmosis filtration system installed - my water is pristine now. We've built what I call blueberry patch with 6 feet deer fence. I planted a bunch of shrubs last fall and they for the most part appear to be doing great. I also planted a bunch of fruit trees - plums, pears, apples and they as well are doing great so far. I'm also building garage gym, I already have power cage for basics - squats, bench press, deadlifts. If you, like myself, weightlifting junkie, you'll like it.

    I'm picking up projects and here is the list of what's on a plate for spring of 2024:
    - grass mowing - most debilitating and senseless chore on a planet
    - planting hedge (we've had ferocious winds lately and i've decided to plant a windbreaker hedge - green giant arborvitae)
    - installing roof vents turbines
    - painting few things here and there
    - watering plants if needed
    - replacing kitchen counter top with butcher block
    - creating flower bed from old bath tub
    - basic organizing and moving things.

    I've finally decided to start a youtube channel about my journey from loudest city on a planet to the quiet zone. I already have tons of footage and stories about beekeepers, confederate history and observatory filmed last year. If you know your way with camera (and I don't mean your iphone camera), that would be great if you can help.

    I'll try to update photos, so you'll get a sense of where things are. Again, apologies for not replied messages. Thanks ya'll.

    July, 2023 UPDATE

    I've taken some time away from Workaway due to several important life changes, so I apologize for all unanswered inquiries. My family had moved from Ukraine to this house and spent 8 months recovering from war, getting their stuff together and starting new life in the states. Now, that all this is over and they happily moved to their dream destination, I'm willing and capable of taking helpers. We've made big progress and here are some of the projects for July-September 2023:

    installing new water softening system
    new vent systems in both attics
    rainwater catchment system design and redirecting gutters,
    prep for my future perennials garden - fencing, laying irrigation system and weed killer
    small projects like putting wallpaper, painting, pruning, mowing grass, etc

    I generally prefer people, who don't need to be managed and micromanaged. I'm happy to present the scope of work and let my workawayers choosing their pace and timing, as long as I'm seeing a progress, I'm not gonna clock on timing. But i've had people who started greatly and then abused my trust by slacking for days, pretending to work, instead of working.

    May, 2022 UPDATE

    I've made some incredible progress with help of a few amazing fellows. We've done some heavy pruning. We've planted a few fruit trees, rose bushes, some junipers. More shrubs will be coming, last frost date is at the end of May for the zone 5a. We've started process of rehabilitation of a neglected garden, it was covered with cardboard and mulch. It's doing great so far! This will be my main planting area for this year, it's still need to get fencing done. I also have couple more areas, that were neglected to work on - wild roses there!

    I'm starting a project of converting garage into a small gym - need to put some pre-pandemic muscle back! If you into weight lifting - there is a future perk here. And I bought a kayak for a relaxing trips down Greenbrier river! Pictures uploaded!

    Feb, 2022. I'm a working remotely TV Producer, photographer and introvert. I've been living most of my life in all awesome big cities (New York, Los Angeles, Barcelona, Moscow to name a few), but pandemic opened a door for me into the new world. I just purchased this beautiful pre-Civil war farmhouse with 2 acres of land just 5 miles south of Green Bank Observatory. There in no cell service in the area (google quiet zone) - people drive with paper maps (or rely on their memory, I know, shocker), and do not scroll their phones endlessly. Cass railroad is just 20 minutes away. Snowshoe ski resort about 35 minutes away. Greenbrier river bike trailhead is couple miles away. There will be wifi at home - you can watch Netflix and make wi-fi phone calls, bit that's about connection you can get with the outside world. Nearest Cell tower is in Marlinton, WV about 25 minutes away (very cute small town).

    I have 3 spacious bedrooms and 1 full bathroom that we would have to share. There will be no microwave in the house. No radio. Other then that it's pretty up to date. There is fully stoked kitchen, updated shower, multiple areas for reading, working and zoom calls. You probably should be LGBT friendly. No republicans! No weapons of any kind on my property!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Anything about photo/video production. I work for large TV network. But it's also a growing community of people who are moving into the area for the digital detox. I certainly did. I speak decent Spanish, but like any language always need practice. I also studied permaculture design and I'm planning to apply principals for my garden. There will be a squat rack installed at the garage, I studied some kinesiology as well. So if you like tho pump some iron, you may find this interesting. I'm happy to correct muscular imbalances we all have due to poor lifestyle and lack of movement. Former NASM Cert personal trainer here. I also just got a kayak and already explored Greebrier river. You should as well!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Various projects in and out - mostly gardening at this point - see above!

    The plan is also to bring 5000 gal water tank and redirect rain gutters from the house to collect that water for garden and house purposes.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Russo: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    There is a spare bedroom

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Washington DC is about 4 hrs away, Charlottesville VA, Roanoke, VA - about 2 hours away, Elkins WV (very cool little town) - 1 hr, Pittsburgh, PA - 4 hrs away. The stars are beautiful. And it's really quiet.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There is enough place to park, and you'd be welcome to use house facilities. But I don't have water/electric hook ups as of now.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    I love well behavied dogs and plenty of space for them to play.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 773346112178

Comentário (1)



Fotos

Comentário




Come and learn about alternative building techniques and living off-grid near Durango, Colorado, USA
Help on non-profit urban farm and stay in historic building in North Little Rock, AR USA