Learn about sustainable living, ecology and conservation near Thames, New Zealand



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    We live on a 26 acres of bush where we help Linden and Richard who own this land care for the bush while also trying to build a more sustainable lifestyle. We are surrounded by the sea, the bush and the rivers so if you want to be in nature this is the place for you. Your work here will be to help us with the veggie garden, both tending to it and making it bigger. We are also planning to create a new hot house to increase our peak growing season. You will learn about native and invasive species and help us care for the bush and do any other general maintenance that needs doing around the place depending on what skills you have.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are a British family, living on the land with the owners Linden and Richard who are a kiwi couple. You will be able to spend time with us all and learn lots about the bush,
    sustainable living, ecology and conservation.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We have a few key projects happening at the moment. Firstly we are growing our veggie growing capacity and making a hot house for longer growing seasons. General help in the garden is also always appreciated. There is endless work to do in the bush, getting rid of invasive species, supporting natives and then maintaining the land for example putting in new steps where needed or fixing up the drive way.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I (Amy) speak intermediate Spanish, though I am a little rusty now. I would love to speak regularly again.

  • Acomodação


    1 bedroom cabin for total privacy. It has a commode in it, all toilets on the land are composting toilets. A shower is available at our place - water supply is rain water only so we have to conserve water as much as possible especially during dry spells. A shared kitchen is just up from the Cabin for you to use whenever you like, this is in Linden and Richards house.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Having your own transportation is a must here. We are on the coast surrounded by stunning scenery, incredible hikes in to the bush and rivers to swim in. Town is 30 mins down the coast in Thames, and Coromandel town 1 hour up the coast. This is the place to be if you want to immerse yourself in nature. Pods of dolphins and Orca are seen pretty often in the firth, and we have amazing birds including Kiwi on the land.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 771515473165



Experience a rural lifestyle with a Kiwi family, near Kerikeri NZ
Help at a sanctuary in Wainui, New Zealand