1 / 3

Help me develop a community land project in Co.Waterford, Ireland

  • Favorito 44 vezes
  • Última atividade: 11 jul. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello.
    I have been farming organically here since 1986, when I bought this 22ha of land as a small hill farm, to become my home. I am now beginning the process of making it a community land trust (CLT), where I can continue to live, but where other people are able to share this space, to farm and develop integrated sustainable projects and, in return, contribute to the work of managing it. It is the alternative economy approach that builds resilience in and fosters cooperative communities. Currently the farm does have a low level of income as I have three Kerry bog pony brood mares (a native rare breed), who have a foal every other year and we have started to thin the woodland, but this income is all used towards running costs as the farm operates as a not-for profit enterprise and does require additional money input from me to be financially viable.

    If you come to help here you will get the opportunity to live in a manner you are probably not used to. We all have become very used to all the conveniences of modern life, to the extent we take them for granted. When we do without most of those conveniences, it is possible to be more’ in tune’ with our surroundings, to become aware of natures rhythms, and begin to feel much more contented. A similar thing happens when we reduce our reliance on money and material things, and instead utilise a system of awareness, contribution, generosity and gratitude. A song of joy and appreciation begins to play in our heart.

    Do you like being in an isolated location with awe inspiring scenery and nature around you? Because my farm is such a place. If you haven’t slept in such a place before, be sure you won’t mind the space about you. Your accommodation would be a caravan, which has two beds, so you could come with a friend, there is electricity (from solar), water, and gas cooking and heating. The compost toilet is housed nearby, but you have to go outside to get to it. There is an average mobile signal but no wifi other than through a phone. My cabin is about 150m away and the next nearest house is 300m away. It is a wonderful place if you like to get away from things and can cope with your own company.

    The work here is varied, and some people have found it quite physically demanding. I know different people have different capabilities and interests and so, as much as possible, I try to find jobs that suit each person, and I prefer not to do one job for too long as variety helps to keep things interesting. . As much as possible we will work together. It doesn’t matter if you don’t have previous experience or expertise, so long as you are willing to try, to learn new things and put in effort.

    So what jobs am I looking for help with right now? When the weather is dry we would work outside planting trees to make new hedges, and a shelterbelt. There is some fencing that needs to be re-erected and hedges and stone walls to be maintained. And some scrub clearance work within the existing woodland. I also need to lay a water pipe and some drainage pipe. When it’s raining we can work indoors on construction and carpentry work. There is also the regular farm work.

    The farm is managed organically and consists of, 17ac of woodland, 28ac of mountain grazing land and 5ac of regular grassland. The aim is not to push the land as hard as possible but to work with nature to maintain and improve natural soil quality and function, encourage a diverse mix of plants and creatures that coexist and help us all survive and flourish. I find it fascinating and wonderful, if you are interested I’d enjoy sharing what I have learnt by farming during the last 40 years.

    Its a quiet location with amazing walks in countryside and into the surrounding mountains. The farm is about 9 miles from the town of Clonmel, Clonmel is a medium sized town that provides most things you want and is well connected by public transport to Dublin, Cork, Limerick and Waterford and places inbetween. There is a local bus service that runs between Clonmel and Dungarvan five times a day, and goes through the local village, Balymacarbry. Ballymacarbry is about 3 miles by road or half that distance if you walk cross country. There is also a bicycle you can borrow to go exploring or get to the local villages, and explore the area. Local people and neighbours are friendly and you could meet them by walking down to the local pub a mile away. Dungarvan is a harbour town and is one end of a cycle track down an old railway line that takes one along the coast and goes to Waterford City.

    I have been a volunteer host for over 14 years. So I hope you'll find my farm welcoming. How much you can enjoy your stay will depend on how much you are willing to learn about and enter into, what is happening here. I look forward to hearing from you.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will have the chance to experience a life with less reliance on modern systems and pressure. You may learn new skills and find new challenges that hopefully you'll benefit from.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Anybody who likes to use their hands is welcome and will find plenty to do here. It also will be helpful if you are open to learning new things. Experience is not necessary but willingness and joy are.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Caravan with electricity, cooking facilities and water supply

    I will supply the food for all meals. Mostly vegetarian but can cater for other diets generally. main meal will be eaten together (when possible) and the rest can be worked out to suit

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The area around my farm is traditional rural Ireland. Being a hilly and mountainous area it has not been 'modernised' as much as other parts of Ireland. There is plenty to explore, castles, old cottages, Irish music, and craic in the pubs about. The farm is 20km from the beautiful rugged and beached coast, and Dungarvan the nearest town on the coast is an old harbour town and is on the edge of a Gaeltacht region

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 767395173348

Comentário (9)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.4)

Comunicação: (4.1)











Pet sitting close to Kilkenny, Ireland
Come and entertain our friendly, fun loving daughter on Inishbofin Island in Connemara, Ireland