Join in and help us renovate and maintain the land in beautiful rural Normandy, France

Country

França

Favorito 12 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    22/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    440

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    12 years ago a team of family and friends from the UK bought a large semi converted Barn in rural Manche, Normandy with an acre of land, which we call 'The French House'. This has been an ongoing work in progress (the ongoing joke is it will never be finished!) Since that time and we now have 5 bedrooms, an empty loft space awaiting further conversion, a beautiful pond, a sunken fire pit and many trees that need harvesting for fire wood!

    A year ago Claire and Lucy (your hosts), quit their jobs, went travelling and discovered the wonderful world of Workaway, being hosted by many lovely people and families around the world, and learning many new skills!
    We are now back in Europe and think our 'French House' could be a great workaway experience.

    Claire and Lucy are a married couple from England, we love to travel and to meet other travellers. We also love spending time outside, working on the land, eating fresh produce, and giving new projects a go.

    We currently describe the house as 'rustic', and whilst we want to keep some of the rustic charm, we are working hard to get the rooms and house to a standard where they can be rented out to holiday makers for a weeks per year.
    With an acre of land, there is always something growing- mostly trees, grass, brambles. So there is lots that needs cutting down, pruning and maintaining.We will be starting on making a veggie patch in the grounds very soon.

    We are able to offer food and board for 4-5 hours work a day 5 days a week, and just board for 3 hours work a day. We are happy to be flexible with days off, and if you want to work more hours one day and less on another, we should be able to accommodate this.

    This workaway opportunity would be better for travellers with their own transport, but we are able to pick you up from the nearest train station (Villedieu or Granville) or possibly the ports of Cherbourg or Caen if needed. There is no local public transport and the nearest shop is 7KMs away.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Prática de idiomas

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Claire and Lucy are English, and speak English. We are both learning French (Lucy is much better) so can support with some beginners French, and are more than happy to offer help with improving English.
    We both miss meeting travellers, so look forward to having people around to share travelling stories, and we love hearing all about the different ways people live their lives.
    We have 5 separate bedrooms, so are able to accommodate several people at once and we would love to provide a bit of a community feel. We love hanging out, playing games and sitting around an open fire. We spend as much time as we can outdoors- working and chilling out.
    In your free time, you are welcome to chill out in the grounds, light a fire, watch TV/dvds, read a book, play games, or pick up a guitar or have a go on the keyboard.

    On Sundays we often enjoy visiting a local ‘vide grenier’ / market which gives you a feel of French culture.
    The house is very remote, but there are walks you can do from the house. We have two bicycles which workawayers can borrow. We are also able to take you out to visit local places of interest on your days off.
    We have learnt many of our DIY, gardening and agricultural skills at the house and through workaways, and are happy to share any skills/knowledge we have picked up.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking for help with DIY and decorating , gardening, or making/ planting a vegetable patch.
    We have plenty of tasks that need doing that can be learnt when you get here, but if you have any specific skills/ interests let us know and we will try to find a project that suits.

    If any one has any plumbing or electrical skills we would be very keen to hear from you!

    We are also looking forward to having people to share meals with and play a game of cards or boule with.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The house has 5 bedrooms, so each group can have their own private room or 2 as needed and shared bathroom facilities. If a family or large group are travelling together, please contact us, as we may be able to host you.
    The rooms have a mixture of double beds/ single beds and bunk beds- let us know your preference when you contact us and we will do our best to give you a room that suits.
    Currently with have two toilets and one shower room (a 2nd full bathroom is in progress).

    We mainly eat vegetarian, so food provided will be vegetarian. (But if you’re a meat lover we are not against you providing your own) Claire and Lucy are happy to cook, but if a guest wanted to cook, that would be lovely and food would be supplied for this.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We would expect out guests to respect the quiet neighbourhood, we have a total of four neighbouring houses in our little area. We would expect you to help keep the house clean and tidy, and help with meal preparation and clearing away as you would in your own home.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 765654993285