Help with gardening and DIY in a small village in the hills near Guadix, Spain

  • Favorito 23 vezes
  • Última atividade: 2 mar. 2024



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas



  • Descrição


    A restored watermill with too many doors to paint and a garden which is too big for one retired teacher. About 3500 m2 of land which needs weeding, strimming and/or rotivating. The applicant needs to be happy to be around 4 large dogs. I would be looking for someone who is generally handy, as there are always a myriad of tasks to be done..... No-one is ever bored here!

    Use of swimming pool in season and fibre op internet. Self service breakfast, one salad meal and one cooked meal per day. Barbecue skills appreciated!

    The village is small, not much “entertainment”. 3 bars, 2 small supermarkets, no public transport. Small gymnasium. Good hiking all around.

    Summer is HOT, and getting more so, so the kind of work required needs to be done between sun-up and about 2 pm. Winter can be COLD, so outdoor work may or may not be possible. We can get anything between -17 and shirtsleeve weather. With, but usually without, rain.

    I can help with anyone learning Spanish or learning English, and am prepared to take the workawayer(s) out and about to a certain extent.

    Non smoking policy here!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I can help with anyone trying to learn either English or Spanish. A non Spanish visitor would get to experience life in a small village in Southern Spain, or a Spanish visitor could get help with English.

  • Ajuda


    Gardening is mainly a clear-up with watering, weeding and strimming. Some rotivating which will require knowledge and strength.
    There is a lot of wood on the property which needs re-painting to protect it from the sun. No special skill required, but some experience would be useful.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I am not sure about learning another language, but would be delighted to help anyone with Spanish or English.

  • Acomodação


    Private bedroom and bathroom. Self service breakfast, salad lunch, cooked evening meal. or the other way around!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    A visitor over 26 could have some use of a car, or a lift to the nearest bus or railway station in Guadix. The only entertainment in this small village is 3 friendly bars, although for late July and the first part of August there is much more activity, both social and cultural, because of the fiesta from August 7 to 10. Bullfighting in the oldest bullring in Spain! The visitor will be able to use the pool, there is fibre op internet, Netflix and Amazon TV.

    There is much to see in this area, notably the Neolithic Site in Gorafe, and the Geopark, with its tours and hiking. Granada is about an hour away, with frequent buses from Guadix, 20 minutes from here. I will not attempt to list the wonders of Granada!

    And this area is one of the best in Spain for free tapas with your wine or beer……….

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 756195674996

Comentário (1)