Living off the grid in harmony with nature in Munster, Ireland

  • Irlanda
  • Favorito 574 vezes
  • Última atividade: 02/02/2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    We are a small group of people living off the grid on a 10 acre piece of land. It is surrounded by the mountains of West Cork. Our core belief system is to live as simply as possible, whilst bettering the space for the people now & in the future.

There are different kinds of areas at various heights. Woodland areas, bog land bits and various types of little fields and gardens. We separated the land in areas for living, for gardening, just for nature and there is also a section for guests and activities. The Gougane Barra National Park and the Lee Valley with the beautiful chain of lakes forming Lough Allua are close by. This is a very rural mountainous area and the nearest village is about 5 km away. The distance to the west coast is about 25 km.

    History, Philosophy, Life and Plans:

    We are inspired by people who live and work in harmony with nature. Being more healthy and happy. We would like to share and enjoy this land and this beautiful area with other people in a scattered community setting with sense for individuality and privacy. The vision is to create a circle of people with the same essentials in life and based on the benefit from each other on various levels. To us this lifestyle is perfect to reveal our potentials.

We are in an early stages of a community set up. At the moment there is space for more people & families. Eventually we also want to inspire like-minded people to settle down on some other potential locations close by to create a larger scale of community and a local support system of each other. 

    Since we are living permanently here we are getting more back in return. This growing strong connection to the land is very inspiring and we are gaining new ideas for the present and future. Every year developing the land and the infrastructure is transforming it more and more into the land of our dreams.

An ongoing project is to bring the Irish native plants back in place as much as possible. That includes planting native trees, bushes and herbs as well as creating herb and medicinal gardens and taking care of the plants that are already present on the land.

Volunteer Accommodation, Facilities and more:

    We are in the process of building an indoor kitchen with functional sinks, seating, gas hob and plenty of food prep space. We have a functional clean compost toilet system, two indoor showers powered by fire, water from a stream (which must be filtered before drinking) and a stone-pool next to a stream on the land.
Your sleeping accommodation will be a yurt or a caravan.

    There are a few caravans, wooden roundhouses, tunnel shape constructions and campervans on the land. There is WiFi in the library bus, with a whole range of books & basic electrics to charge your devices. There is no main electricity or main water on the land. We are using solar panels to charge any power-tools and we also have a digger and a dumper at our disposal to help us with the heavy ground and stone work.

    Lifestyle in the Summer:

    The weather including daylight and darkness has a big impact on our life in general. We learned to accept and appreciate each kind of condition. Weather is the main aspect to consider every day. Especially gathering and preparing wood and doing the stockpiling is an important part of our routine to secure dry firewood. If there is too much rain we are not working outdoors.
    We have a library bus with books, board games and musical instruments (guitar and bongos).

    We have Canadian canoes and trips on the lakes can be arranged.
    We also have 2 bicycles, which can be used for trips anytime.

    Essentials to bring:
    -Head torch
    - waterproof jacket and trousers
    - waterproof boots
    - lighter/matches

    What are we looking for:

    We are mainly looking for people who are approaching a simple life close to nature and with like-minded people around. Therefore gathering experiences, skills, inspirations or already looking for the final place to settle down.

You are more than welcome to involve yourself on various projects and different areas. That could be new ideas or inspirations as much as physical work or other focus areas.
We offer the possibility of a permanent stay under the right circumstances. However, the living space now is quite limited, so this process is very selective and we are only looking for people who would reflect our ideology and fit in well with the rest of us.

    About us:

I bought the land back in 2011. Born in 1967 in Hamburg, Germany. After many years with different kinds of work, training and studies to me, the most important outcome was to find out more about who I am and what I am looking for in life. An on-going part of my life was always the joy of traveling and being outdoors in nature. After living in different alternative settings for many years I was ready to dive consistently into this beautiful piece of land in the mountains of Cork. I found a home, where I could live exactly in the way as I am. While creating a new vision of life. To live so close to nature makes me feel more intensive, more creative and curious. It has an ongoing positive influence to my personality and my path of live. My biggest passion on the land was to bring the native Irish plants back in place, restoring nature and slowly learning how to combine that with permaculture. Gathering knowledge and awareness about plants, food and medicine.
As a result of different big events out of my control I am living back in Germany now since 2020. Being involved in a similar project over there now. Nevertheless, my heart and spirit remains on this beautiful piece of land in the mountains of West Cork. I am still in touch with the group and involved as a kind of mentor.

    John:aka `heyoka spirit`

    I am the co creator of this off grid project. I came to this project with over 25 years experience having lived in and constructed Tipi`s and Yurts for myself personally in community settings and commercially. I spent of number of years living horse drawn where i traveled to many towns and villages across Ireland, experiencing many alternatives communities and ways of living. I have a lot of experience working with horses and I have a passion for gardening, and we will be aiming for food self sufficiency in the future
These days I would describe myself as a survivalist prepper, I`m passionate about all off grid living techniques from alternative power to long term food storage.
I am always happy to share and demonstrate some of the skills I have acquired over the years, and I look forward even more to learning new skills from different peoples perspectives that I`m certain helpers will bring to the project. John is taking some time away from the land, his skills and knowledge are surely missed, but he does pop in every now & then - so you may get the pleasure of meeting him! 


    All my life I felt like a misfit in modern society. There was always a nagging voice in the back of my head. Language and true history draw me in. Finding the land gave me both a home and freedom, never experienced before. Added to that is the joy of seeing nature grow, hearing birds and the wind when waking up in the morning, feeling the soil and smelling all the scents mother nature provides us with. This year my wish is to reintroduce native medicinal herbs and old heirloom seeds to the land and mid to long
term create more and more of a permaculture setting where nature does what she does best and we can tune in and flow with her.

    Amelia, Luke & baby Elief:
    We have been in Ireland since the beginning of 2022, birthed our son here & are settling down for the next year or so. We have adopted a lovely dog, 2 pigs & 3 goats which are all here living contently! Luke is very much an all rounder handy man, he’s currently building the communal house with the help of workawayers. I’ve been focusing my time on growing food, learning a bit about herbal remedies & a lot of my time goes towards our son. We both very much love meeting new people, so we are really trying to accommodate anyone here who feels like they’d suit the off-grid lifestyle.

    There is also another family living on the land.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are more a part of subculture in Ireland. Not part of the common traditional Irish way of living in this days. This subculture exist since the 60´s, when lots of hippies and alternative people came to Ireland. Since then it was growing and establishing as a part of culture in this country. Within this kind of subculture there are different variations of alternative lifestyles. That involves Irish people and lots of people from different countries. Mainly from Europe. We belong to the growing number of alternative people in Ireland, who want to live off-grid in a sustainable way, involving nature and permaculture as much as possible. And also being very critical towards the common western society way of life. This alternative way of life is a kind of worldwide culture and not linked to a particular country.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    The help we need depends from the particular projects, seasons and priorities we are approaching at certain times throughout the year. And so this is just a general overview of potential help for you:

    Gardening, Planting, Maintenance, Clearing Areas, Woodwork (Firewood, Construction/Building), Cooking, native plant gathering and planting to restore areas. There is also a variation of potential help on top of this physical areas.

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    Yurt, caravan or tent.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We have 3 chickens, a dog, 2 pigs and 3 goats so please bare that in mind!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 748217685274

Comentário (11)


Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.7)

Childminding in Bandon County Cork, Ireland
Dog sitter for our 2 friendly dogs in beautiful Donegal, Ireland