Family life in Lagos - Algarve - Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favorito 108 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    12/06/2022

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi, our names are Holly, David and our girls Anissa (5) and Wyllow (9 months), along with our most recent family member, Winston, an 8 month old puppy we met at the beach a few weeks ago!

    We arrived in Portugal 6 years ago with backpacks and the idea to stay for a few months! 6 years later, with our family and small business, we’ve settled nicely into the way of life here, in fact, we absolutely love it!

    We run a Stand Up Paddle Boarding school in Lagos, offering SUP tours and tuition around the western Algarve. Our most popular tour is our Sunrise SUP, so David is up and out the house most mornings before sunrise. You’ll be very welcome to join him on a suitable day!
    It’s an early start, but a phenomenal time of day to experience the spectacular coastline here. If there are no other tours for the day, then David will generally be back around mid-morning/ mid-day.

    We’re a very easy-going, social family, that loves chatting to and meeting new people. We spend our free time on the beaches, walking the coastal paths and exploring new areas. David loves nothing more than to find a dirt track we’ve never been down before!

    Our home is 10 minutes drive from Lagos, in-between the villages of Bensafrim and Barão São João. We have a large rustic garden that has lots of potential!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We have been hosted by amazing locals around the world during previous travels and we gained so much from these experiences, that we want to try and both reciprocate the hospitality and also continue to learn things from people that stay with our family. We hope to spend plenty of time getting to know our guests, sharing stories, experiences and ideas.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Currently looking for either of the following situations;

    1: Native Portuguese speaker to join our family and speak lots of Portuguese! This could also be a language exchange, if you hope to improve your English! In this situation, the idea would be to simply join us in day to day tasks, like taking the kids to school, going to the beach, cooking, generally hanging out and trying to speak/ learn as much Portuguese as possible! We would also be happy to sit down and learn in a more formal structure, if you have teaching experience, or happy to give it a go. Either way, we are positive the experience will be invaluable for our family.

    OR

    2. Single or couple with labouring/ building and gardening experience.

    We have a beautiful ‘Nora’ (traditional well) in our orchard which urgently needs a safety grid over it, but we would also love to renovate it too.

    Vegetable garden; we have space, compost and lots of vermicompost too.. but we haven’t had time to plant anything yet this season. You will have free-reign to plant as much as you like!

    Tidying up around the garden and house; weeding, strimming etc.

    We may also start some other little projects soon like renovating some indoor wooden furniture, building some outdoor climbing/ play structures for the kids.. thinking about this as I speak and ideas will be welcome!

    You must love children, our eldest loves to chat and ask lots of questions and anything you can share with them will be hugely appreciated! Anissa loves art, she can happily make things and draw things all day, every day, so totally happy for you to get creative together!

    If you enjoy cooking, this would also be a welcome contribution.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We would be very keen to find a native Portuguese speaker to share the language with our family! In this instance, the emphasis would be entirely on learning the language by joining us on our day to day errands, hanging out and attempting to have as much Portugese immersion as possible. Holly has a good foundation for the Portugese language, but needs opportunities to get to a conversational level, David is a beginner, Anissa is learning Portugese at a bilingual school.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a typical Portuguese 3 bedroom villa, with large gardens. Inside, we would like to offer a bedroom with double bed and bathroom to our guest/s. We also have a large kitchen and open living room, which you are very welcome to use throughout your stay with our family.

    We are located between 2 lovely Portuguese villages, Bensafrim e Barão de São João, both have excellent local grocery shops, post office, cafe and restaurant. It is 10 minutes drive to the coastal towns of Lagos and Luz, 25 minutes drive to the western Atlantic coast, which offers great surfing, hiking, mountain biking and a rugged landscape. We are in a great location for experiencing all sides of the Algarvian culture and landscape!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Between the two of us (Holly and David) we are always coming and going to different places (beach, town, kids clubs) and will always be happy for you to either join us, or get dropped off to where you would like to go, if it is on our route. Alternatively, there is also a bus service within 100m of our driveway that will take you to the main bus station of Lagos. There is also a train station in Lagos.

    If you love the outdoors, then the Algarve is your paradise! The area is extremely popular for water sports (surfing, SUP, kite surfing, windsurfing, sailing), hiking (incredible coastal walks and our house is also located just next to the GR13 Via Algarvia walking route that goes from the Spanish border, to Sagres, the most south westerly point of Europe), also mountain biking and road biking is fantastic here, there are horse riding schools and one of the worlds best drop zones for skydiving too!

    You will have the chance to learn to SUP with David and I!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have unlimited internet offered by MEO. It’s a reasonably fast service. We have a dining table and coffee table in our large living room space which you can use for laptops/ paperwork.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Up to 7metres. We can provide water, electric, internet inside the house and you are welcome to use a bathroom and family kitchen, if needed.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 738244541678