Hippies, primitivists and lumberjacks welcome at our homestead in Orangedale, Canada

Country

Canadá

new host  

Favorito 6 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    09/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hey! I'm Lila. My partner Johnny and I run a small homestead where our goal is to sustain the necessities of life by our own hand - food, water, heat, shelter and clothing. This work traditionally takes a village, so if you've always wanted to live like it's 1899, come along! We are at the beginning stage of setting up the farm, starting with prepping the land for a garden.

    Johnny is a skilled craftsman and valuable mentor. He takes care of our metal work, carpentry, wood work, milling, forestry, mechanics, electrical and plumbing. I on the other hand take care of the housekeeping, firewood, hide tanning, general labour, medicine, cooking and gardening.

    We currently produce (for our own use):
    Metal and wood crafts, lumber milled on-site, firewood, maple and birch syrup, preserves, apple cider, berries and herbal teas.

    In the future we will have goats, ducks, a pit greenhouse, an outdoor clay oven, a sandy root cellar, a hide tannery and a weaving loom.

    Things we are glad to share with you in return for your labour:
    Country living
    Healthy food
    Truthspeaking and open-hearted communication
    Space for self care

    RULES:
    -Respect all species of life. We condone hunting when the proper acknowledgement and respect is given.
    -Support people of colour, support same-sex relationships, support women.
    -Low waste initiative (avoiding plastic/disposables).
    -Scent free, no pollutants. I am allergic to synthetics in soap, shampoo, cleaners, etc. Do not come here with clothes washed in scented detergent or wearing scented deoderant, bug spray etc. Most essential oils are okay in moderation.
    -No cigarettes, drugs or alcohol abuse. Weed or microdosing is fine.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    What you can learn here is how to live traditionally with the land. Johnny and I are both passionate about connecting to the ways our ancestors lived - hunting and gathering as well as farming. We know many local plants and animals and can teach you identification, how to respect wildlife, how to forage sustainably, and uses/medicinal properties of harvested plants. You can camp, have a campire, stargaze. Here in Cape Breton, Scottish and Mi'kmaq history is at the forefront. You may take a trip to a local museum or visit trails and waterfalls on the island to learn more about the local people, culture and land.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Projects may include:
    Garden prep
    Fruit, veggie and herb growing
    Making kindling and firewood
    Building a duck coop
    Litter cleanup
    Cooking
    Setting up irrigation
    Ditching
    Building an outhouse
    Building a deck
    Sustainable forestry
    Building a greenhouse
    Knocking mortar
    Slaughter, butcher, skinning, hide tanning
    Canning, drying and preserving plants
    Replacing siding, flooring
    Mudding/sanding drywall
    Setting up solar power

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I'm pretty good at French and would love to practice any language you might speak. I've been introduced to Gaelic and Polish.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    There is no indoor plumbing here. We haul water in jugs from a nearby spring for drinking, cooking, and washing.

    We have a primitive outhouse in the works. It is a simple platform with a hole to squat over. We plan to construct a seat and walls.

    We have luxuries such as electrical power, an electric oven/stovetop and an electric water pump which we use for the garden hose and the electric clothes washer. We are using grid power as it is our best choice right now for high amperage welding.

    For washing there are the options of a bowl of water for a sponge bath, a water jug shower or a hose shower! If you use soap, only all-natural soaps are allowed on the land to prevent harming wildlife. On hot days I like to go swimming in the salt water lake nearby.

    For sleeping there are a couple tents to choose from, a van with screened windows or a room indoors. There is a single bed roll, a single mattress, double mattress or a queen air mattress. Volunteers are welcome to bring their own accommodation. A tent can be set up either in the backyard or woods.

    We are omnivores. Whole foods are what we eat and we avoid processed foods! I'm a total health nut... with the exception of ice cream ;) If you're hungry and there's no meal made, please help yourself to cooking what you'd like. You can buy yourself any special items at the Whycocomagh co-op.

    For working bring rubber boots, gloves, light long sleeve shirt and pants for the bugs. Hearing protection and steel toes are encouraged around tractors, chainsaws, mechanics and metal working as it happens often enough! It's okay if you don't have those, just keep yourself safe.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    A van or camper is fine, no room for RVs.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Este anfitrião está aberto a aceitar viajantes com animais de estimação.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours per day, 5 days per week.


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 735777315884