atualizado  

Help complete some general & garden projects in Nova Scotia, Canada

  • Favorito 146 vezes
  • Última atividade: 16 jul. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    🎯In Sept/Oct I can take ONE male to share a room. We'll be looking for help to complete the building of a Passive Solar Greenhouse, the last of the harvesting and fall sowing.

    Our place is a permaculture homestead & farm tucked deep into the woods, lakeside in Nova Scotia. On site full time is me, Dana, with Sarah and Olle. I'm 56 & relocated from BC to Nova Scotia in 2021 to build my semi-retirement eco dream that will provide food & shelter for generations to follow. Sarah and Olle are a young dutch couple here on a long-term stay who are helping with anything and everything on site. You will be working on ONLY projects that do not generate income, like gardening/food production, firewood collection, general property upkeep, etc.

    We have a new food forest (fruit tree nursery) with fruits, nuts and herbs, a flock of chickens and lots of wildlife, we even have groundhogs that have their own food garden. The goal is to be fully off-grid & self-sufficient within a few years. I'm 2 years into transforming my property. I believe in working with nature, instead of fighting her, using natural and permaculture techniques to operate organically. This property was a mowed field with flower beds, where they used TONS of pesticides. I'm transforming it back to nature, while keeping the uncleared land as a pristine watershed forest with walking paths. My chickens are pretty pampered, I grow them fodder/microgreens in winter & ferment their feed which means I get non-stop eggs all winter when most people's egg production plummets.

    Permaculture practices I use include soil building, hugelkultur berms and swale trenches to move water / water my food, collecting trailer loads of washed-up seaweed and I race around the neighborhood each fall grabbing all the leaves my neighbors bag up! Since I'm in pristine wilderness we have lots of local animals. My land houses porcupines, squirrels galore, beaver, deer, mink, bobcats, a bear and I'm sure more critters I just haven't seen yet. I operate an Eco Retreat Short Term Rental as well, introducing people to how the land can be used effectively by embracing nature - you will NOT be involved with this operation.

    What will a day at my place look like? A delish meal of fresh eggs and homemade sausages for our Omnivores, then we start around 9-10am on various projects for 1/2 the day. After that, you're free to fill your time however you choose, I've had some volunteers working remotely part-time on their regular jobs or if you're a skilled trade no doubt you'd find many in the area eager to hire you during your off time.

    If you love to cook I love to eat, otherwise, I cook for a living and I'm happy to teach you new healthy meal ideas. When I'm not working on a fun project or working my day job (from home) I spend time on the water kayaking and watching nature OR I have my hands in the dirt growing something!

    Please note that the project is 420-friendly, outdoors of course! IMPORTANT: I'm extremely scent sensitive so colognes, shampoos etc can set off my allergies. I ask that you respect that and use the unscented products I provide (soap, shampoo, conditioner and laundry soap) AND bring your own unscented personal care products. EVEN a small whiff or scented body lotion or deodorant can sent my allergies into freefall.

    We're fully LGBTQIA2SA+ and Neurodivergent friendly here!

    I'm a bit of an introvert, I love love love to visit & educate, then I love my downtime. If you're an introvert know that after peopling a while, you'll also be able to enjoy downtime here at the place. There are so many spots to escape into nature!

    I started with another service first before workaway, please check WWOOF for my extensive reviews.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    My location is a vacation paradise. Lakefront complete with Kayaks and a paddleboard, bikes to explore around and a 250' waterfront boardwalk to zen out and enjoy the lake.

    I'm a fantastic cook and specialize in healthy meals full of flavor that come together in under 30 mins and would love to share this knowledge. First I have to grow that food! If you've ever wanted to learn how to grow your own food by embracing nature, I'm your gal and teaching this to others is my life mission, it is how we change the world, one plate at a time.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Would LOVE some help with a few building projects especially! More details in my main writeup.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Food is included, you just tell me what you need for your eating style. You whip up your own bfast or lunch with supplied groceries and a dinner will be provided.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are 10 mins from the small community of Hubbards NS. Two ocean beaches are a 20min bike ride away (bikes are provided). If you love nature, I have 17 acres of pristine forest for hiking & exploring. I've been hosting Wwoofers since 2023 and my reviews are outstanding and the experience has been remarkable!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I've got great wifi and have hosted digital nomads before.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We've got a large level driveway as well as a upper-level lookout that can be parked on.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 696197885574

Comentário (4)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.3)

Comunicação: (5.0)






Learn a simple way of living in Quebec, Canada
Come and volunteer with our family on the South Shore of Nova Scotia, Canada