Bring your skills and creativity to our beautiful old water mill in Central France

Country

França

atualizado  

Favorito 592 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    03/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 5 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    ---
    We are a British & German couple with two little ones, who decided to step out of City life and buy an old water mill in August 2020- perfect timing considering how the world has changed.

    We are well travelled and looking forward to meeting new interesting people who can enjoy our little paradise and leave some of their creativity, skills and passion ... their "footprint" on the mill by being here and contributing to its charm. Lina rescued a kitten from the river, so we now have a beautiful cat named by the kids as Mitten. We also have a very shy abd cute outside cat (Molly) that inherited us when we bought the place.

    This huge Mill building replaced a centuries old flour mill, before being converted in the 1880s to produce high quality metalwork like medical instruments- a specialisation that has been famous in this area since Roman times. In addition to the main house, we also have a 4 bedroom guesthouse (see bedroom photos) with wooden beams & staircase where our guests can feel at home but also have some privacy. We just installed an external wood burning "Hobbit" sauna, and restored an old Swedish hot tub (needs some more attention)

    Set in 3 Hectares with a river, lots of rare birds including Kingfishers and many fruit & nut trees (plums, walnut, apples etc) and interesting plants (Hops, Oregano etc.) that we would like to uncover and understand.. . We also have Kayaks, a few bikes, fishing rods, a decent bow & arrow, VR goggles, Slackline, our exterior sauna / hot tub "spa area" etc for free time.

    The whole valley is also full of 300-400 million old fossils... the prehistoric sea base having been pushed up by the glacier that formed our valley. Next to the River also runs an old long boat canal between Champagne and Bourgogne.

    We have an Iron age and Napoleonic fort on our land and have just spent a few weeks excavating it and learning about the past. Lots of nice finds with the metal detectors... There are neolithic walls and burial mounds also around our property which we have also started to map. At the top of the road is a long stretch of roman road crossing fields... . If you like history, you will be overwhelmed with the richness here. We have a good metal detector and it's hard not to make finds. We still hope to find a french speaking workawayer with a passion for research as there is a lot to discover in the archives and museums.

    Well trained dogs (and owners) are welcome - just bring your pooper scooper as we have little kids running about.

    IMPORTANT

    1) we are a meat free environment. It is a simple positive contribution towards health, environment and animal ethics. Lina can share a lot of fascinating information about the advantages of plant based nutrition and cooks very well- but if you can't live without dairy products that's fine. Just no meat please.

    2) If you have social, psychologiocal or alcahol dependency issues, please understand that we are not the right environment to be able to support you. We have had a couple of such experiences and do our best to manage them, but ultimately this is a family home.

    MAIN PROJECTS PLANNED through October / November.

    Hydroponics Tunnel:
    Finally, thanks to some great recent support we are ready to connect the tubes and set up the pumps. We also want to divert a spring to this area... so some digging planned in case there is someone out there who would like to support us with this project.

    We are also ready to convert an old stables and turn into a Seedling nursery - we have a lots of glass / frames so if you want to flex some muscles and have basic DIY skills, you will be welcome.

    You can also enjoy trying power tools and general landscaping... or chopping wood and helping with weeding etc. So something for everyone. We are not the typical workaway and we love to help people gather new experiences and expose them to country living. We offer new experiences... to try out things that you would never get the chance to in City life. Important though is to have guests that are independent and flexible and bring some energy with them.

    General Domestic Help.
    We spend as much quality time with our almost 4 year and 2 year old as we can but there is always something to do... if you are a e.g. a travelling single Mum or just okay to help with some household chores. We just need plenty of advance planning to make sure the group is right for your visit.

    The tasks need to get done, but it should be fun and something that interests you. We are very flexible and want our guests to have a great experience. We are looking for people who are uncomplicated and "do not bring stress with them". The guest house is really nice and you will feel respected- we just ask for the same back.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Guests benefit from seeing how country living is... the freedom, sense of nature and quality, rather than the consumerism and rush of city life. You can learn about the different plants, hydroponics, discover lots of new skills and explore prehistory which sits all around us.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The land has many special corners that we want to develop. We listed some of the tasks above- the skills or experience can be summarised below:

    General building / DIY
    Landscaping & Hydroponic farming
    Design, architecture
    Domestic support (childcare, cooking & cleaning)
    Physiotherapy/ massage as we both struggle due to work/small kids with tension and neck pain

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Russo: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Holandês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We offer guests to stay in a separate 4 room guesthouse that is attached to the main building, where you have all you need. Two bathrooms, one of them with bath, both with showers and toilets, and four restored bedrooms in total (see photos).. The guesthouse has a communal area upstairs with a nice view on the garden and communal book / TV area. Also a fully equipped kitchen and eating area. We treat our guests with a lot of respect and flexibility- but just ask that they do the same back by keeping the guesthouse tidy and meat free.
    Normally the guests cook themselves from a well stocked kitchen... but we try and eat together a few times a weeks (as the kids schedules allow).

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    In your free time you can enjoy your time the way you would like to. On our land there is plenty to do for anyone who loves nature, as we do :) Hiking, cycling, walking, running, inline skating (all along the famous path along the canal from Bourgogne to Champagne) , Kayak/canoe on the river, Swimming, join Yoga and stretching with Lina, Forest walks, Relaxing, Meditation, Rare bird watching, Metal Detecting, Archery, Sauna & Hot tub, Virtual Reality to only name a few options :)

    We live in the middle of nature, between Langres and Chaumont, two very nice old towns. Especially Langres is famous for its medieval flair and the history and philosophy of Diderot.
    Chaumont is supported by young vibes and influence such as street art and sports and quite modern. Both of the towns have weekly markets with local products. The region here is very natural and also has some lakes within 20 minutes drive.

    Here, you really can forget Covid. We do.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a fairly good connection- 30Mbit/s and coverage across most areas. A few of our guests have also worked part time and we have made it work well- however, if you have a full time day job and more looking for a cheap lifestyle, workaway is not the right platform.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have 2 entrances to the main property but the main drive is very narrow. A normal panel van is fine, but more than that, you will be better to take the bumpy but much wider track. 7m is no problem... above that you might want to look on Google Maps first.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    well behaved pets (and owners).

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 productive hours a day, 5 days a week- flexible.

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.7)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicação: (4.6)


















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 693128995791