Join us at our artistic home and help with building and gardening projects in the Morvan, Burgundy, France

Country

França

Favorito 162 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    29/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    97.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are Stephen, a painter and Mila who is a fashion designer and researcher in sustainable fasion. We currently have one dog called Bella.
    We are developing a small private fee paying artist-in-residence accommodation and studios, as well as growing organic vegetables, fruit trees and keeping poultry. The house, studios and gardens are situated in the Morvan National Park in Burgundy. Our project is to provide artists or writers with a fee paying short-term residency so they can stay and make their own work during the summer months in new surroundings. The scale of the studios allows us to make our own work in private as well as enabling visiting artists to refresh their ideas and develop new work; in addition we provide mentoring and studio guidance on request. On request, it is possible we might be able to provide a Workawayer with some studio space during their stay, but this cannot be guaranteed.

    We are interested in permaculture and regenerative cultures; we are not farmers or consider ourselves to be professional growers, and currently we are not completely self-sufficient but self-suffciency is our long-term aim.
    Stephen has a Phd in art and citizenship and Mila has a PhD in sustainable fashion.
    We are both English and French speaking, English and Slovak is our first language. Mila can also speak basic German and some Russian.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The Morvan is ideal for hiking, swimming, mountain biking as well as good access to enable day trips to Paris or Lyon. We are 50 minutes away from the beautiful city of Dijon and the beautiful town of Beaune, both these locations are at the heart of Burgundy food, wine and culture. The Roman town of Autun is 25 minutes away, where there are lots of historic buildings, bars and resturants. There are a variety of museums in the area relating to Roman and Celtic culture.
    The Burgundy vineyards and their domaines are 50 minutes car drive away, and provide an additional ideal setting and location for bike riding.
    The Workawayer could benefit from improving their language skills, improving knowledge on vegetable and fruit growing, DIY skills as well as living within an artist and designer household.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Essentially, we need help with general gardening, managing raised vegetable beds, planting seedlings, composting, weeding, mulching, fruit picking, grass cutting, and looking after chickens; we also have two flower gardens, which need maintenance. Ideally we are looking for someone to help during the warmer months of 2022 and Spring 2023. We are also looking for some help to build some drystone walls in the gardens. As we develop the gardens we are also renovating an old farmhouse. So we would also appreciate help with general DIY chores, in particular we are building artists studios and any help with general tasks would also be greatly appreciated.
    The gardens are relatively modest in size, we have a total of 4000 sqm of land divided into five gardens. Three of the gardens are dedicated to vegetables, fruit growing orchard and a chicken garden. We are interested in permaculture and regenerative cultures; we are not farmers or professional growers, and we are not completely self-sufficient but that is our long-term aim.
    Help with cooking evening meals would also be an advantage. Please get in touch if you need any further information. Mila works and commutes to London, normally she alternates between working in London for 2 weeks and working from home in France for 2 weeks. It is not essential but it might feel preferable, for some of the time, if any visit can coincide with Mila in France.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Slovak: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Alemão: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    English is my first language and I speak beginner/intermediate French; I would like to improve my French speaking.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Our house is an old stone and wood construction farmhouse, built around the 1740's. The house size is around 180 sqm. All the rooms in the house are in good condition and livable, however, we are currently decorating and upgrading each room. The Workaway would have their own private bedroom, with a double bed, radiator, and small writing desk. The workawayer will be invited to join us for meals, and they would have full access to the lounge area (and a modest library).
    There are three toilets in the house and two shower rooms, there is also a bath tub.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are artists so we also like to spend some of our day in our studios making art work: we have studios of various sizes, on request we might be able to provide some art studio space as well; currently we have 150 sqm painters studio, a 40 sqm drawing studio and a modest sewing room of 11 sqm. Around 6:30pm we tend to relax and start to cook. We like to cook or eat something each day that has come from the garden. We also like to walk the dogs in the beautiful surrounding countryside. In the evenings we like to relax by watching a film or reading, listening to music, or depending on the time of year going for a walk. We have friends nearby and we are happy to invite Workawayers into our social life, if they wish to do so.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We currently have wifi through an antenae ariel; it generally has good reception in the Workaway's private bedroom. We are able to have Zoom and Webinar meetings online.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    It is possible for the Workaway to bring a dog if neccessary, as long as the dog is sociable with other dogs and well behaved.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 /5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)





Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 687277629172