atualizado  

Visit our habitat in the North Carolina foothills, USA

  • Favorito 476 vezes
  • Última atividade: 22 mai. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    The land is mostly wooded, with a creek cutting through it and a small, picturesque brook feeding into the creek. The air is clean, with hardly any light or noise pollution (still a good bit of nature noise) and stellar views day and night.

    Our family of six (ages 42, 40, 39, 17, 17, 13) live in two tiny cabins on 30 acres in the North Carolina foothills near Chimney Rock (we see the back of Chimney Rock Mountain from our house). We have another family, Tracy, Jordan, and Wyatt (ages 34, 34, 5) staying here who found us through workaway and primarily care for the gardens and clean rentals. We are going to build a home for them here soon. Henry (22) is an electrician by trade who is dedicated to working towards living in a sustainable community. He is also constructing a house in the community, which is close to completion. Chris (26) stayed with us most of 2023 and built a room last year. He is a multi-instrumentalist and keeps us silly. His partner, Raven, also lives here, and she is an amazing artist who has painted many murals for us. Tim (33) is our resident zone manager and pitches in whenever an extra hand is needed. We are all into music and are nature lovers. We plan to have shorter term workawayers visiting throughout the year.

    Our intention is to provide ways for folks to visit, immerse in the natural world, practice a simple lifestyle, and hopefully experience a bit of the good life. We aim to maintain a community of people who care for the world and can take care of ourselves and each other. We want to foster beautiful experiences, whatever forms they take. Right now we are working towards a long-term goal of creating a self-sufficient community.

    While somewhat secluded, we are 50 minutes from Asheville, NC, 75 minutes from Charlotte, NC, 60 minutes from Greenville, SC and 45 minutes from Spartanburg, SC.

    We do live in the country and do not have WiFi. The only phone carrier with reliable data access is Verizon. We can provide a hotspot in some cases, but our data is limited. A library is 10 minutes away that has computer and internet access.

    This is natural wilderness, with all the critters that live here - if you are afraid of spiders, snakes, lizards, or other harmless creatures, you should probably look elsewhere. The land is safe enough for us to let the kids explore for hours without worry, but if you have phobias, you will probably not be comfortable here.

    Unfortunately, we have had multiple negative experiences with visiting dogs. Because of this, we cannot accommodate any dogs, in order to keep the peace with our 40+ animals. If you are seeking an animal companion during your visit, there are plenty of them around who would love your affection and will definitely return it!

    We are vegan and only cook and serve vegan food (except for local honey and eggs from our own chickens). We have been vegan for a while and have gotten pretty good at creating tasty meals. We have a medium-sized dog, 6 cats, 2 goats, 2 running ducks, 2 mallards, 3 turkeys, and 30 chickens. We feel that kindness, compassion, and respect for all living things should be embraced by everyone, and we expect visitors to strive to uphold these values while staying with us. This is a beautiful place, and we hope all visitors will help us maintain and improve on its beauty (i.e. pick up any trash one finds, even if you did not put it there, and do not destroy trees or other plants for fun).

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Companhia para idosos
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    "Beware the burden of a busy life" is taken seriously here. We live relatively simple, slow-paced lives filled with music, conversation, and a variety of beautiful experiences. While there is always more work that can be done, we try to find ways to grow through what we do instead of rushing to finish. Some of us are trained in philosophy and forestry, so there are ample opportunities to learn how to nature walk intentionally, converse about the big questions of life, and share stories, music and vegan marshmallows by a campfire. There is also the ability to introspect and reflect on the world while sitting alone on a rock by a beautiful creek or in a hammock by a babbling brook. Come experience the great outdoors of the Blue Ridge Mountains!

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    From March through October we need help tending gardens, harvesting produce, and processing/canning hot sauce, tomatoes, and pickles. We also need help with maintaining trails. We eat pretty great during summer and fall because of all the fresh produce.

    We have numerous projects on which we can use help, from clearing new trails, to setting up additional gardens and other small construction projects. A second or third set of hands helps us immensely in completing projects, and if you have carpentry or plumbing experience, that can help too. Most tasks will be alongside one of us, so we can always teach you how to do things if necessary. It helps if you have some basic knowledge in some of these areas, but being able to hold a piece of plywood on a ceiling can be very valuable, depending on the project.

    Our current projects include the following, but this list is not exhaustive:

    1. We are all wanting to learn to play music. If you can teach bass, violin, mandolin, or ukulele, come show us the ropes!

    2. Trails and campsites have been cut on the side of the creek we currently live on. We bought the property on the other side of the creek recently and need to cut trails and clear recreation spaces over there. Trail building primarily involves cutting or digging out underbrush and small trees. We also need help maintaining our 2+ miles of trails.

    3. Some of our buildings need to be finished, even though they are currently functional. This includes installing interior paneling walls and insulation, flooring, and possibly some painting.

    4. We are going to build a "Walden" house and a lean-to down by the creek. You can help us build one and then stay in it yourself!

    The above list is not exhaustive, but it gives an idea of some of the work we will be doing out here in the coming months.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Visitors can choose to tent camp by the creek or on the edge of the land next to an apple orchard with a panoramic view of the mountains. There are a few buildings/bedrooms scattered around the land that become available from time to time. We have a 30 amp hookup for vanlifers and RVers. We have a small, climate controlled common-space music room. There is a shower, laundry and bathhouse attached to one of the cabins that is available for guests and has hot water. We cook most meals and are happy to include you in all facets of meal preparations and consumption. We can provide all your meals during your stay. There is an outdoor kitchen open to everyone at all hours.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We regularly go hiking and attend cultural events in surrounding areas. There is a lot to see and do nearby, and we can give advice and/or bring you along on our own trips. It is ideal if you have your own vehicle, so that you can come and go as you please. We are particularly fond of taking folks out to a nearby brewery right on the Broad River. Beer and beauty!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a 30 amp hookup.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    At least 10 hours a week (Max 5 hours a day, 5 days a week)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 686769963359

Comentário (29)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)









































Help me with organising stuff or teach me Japanese in Tacoma, USA
Can you hang a swing from a tall tree near Paducah, Kentucky, USA