Help with daily life at a small chateau in Dordogne, France

Country

França

Favorito 24 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    13/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Stephen & Sara live in a small chateau in a rural area of Dordogne, France. We have two small dogs on several acres of woodland and parkland. We would love to host someone (or a couple) to share our experiences and create some time in our day to build our plans for the future, in exchange for some housework and general property maintenance. Stephen works full time hours in the afternoon & evening from his office, and Sara works on building the plans for the chateau, and on our social media channels. We have Canadian-British backgrounds, and like to travel. Stephen is a graphic designer and artist, and Sara is building her skills in historic costuming.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We live in a beautiful, rural part of France, surrounded by nature hikes nearby, and castles and other historic sites in the area, with active market towns a few minutes away. Experience life in France, and what it takes to maintain a historic property (but we're not an official historic monument). We do run active social media channels; while we respect privacy decisions, it will be helpful if you can be part of that work as well (either in front or behind the camera). We are happy to help non-native English speakers improve their English if desired.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We would like help with day to day cooking, chores (dishes, laundry, cleaning, etc), and property maintenance (gardening, woodcutting, bramble clearing, etc). If you have experience with DIY and building projects such as house painting and wallpapering, that would be ideal but not necessary. We have two small dogs (terriers), who like to join in the fun. We are looking for travelers who can help us improve our French, and understanding of French culture.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We are both interested in improving our French. Stephen is a beginner, and Sara is closer to intermediate.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will stay in your own separate bedroom in the family space, with comfortable bed and shared bathroom & toilets. While we will try to keep a consistent space for you, you may be asked to change rooms if other family or friends visit. The bedrooms are up a flight of stairs, and there is no lift. Share our family space generally and be part of the daily life. Join us for our meals (if desired), we will provide food (on our regular family budget). While we want you to be part of the household, that does mean you'll have plenty of time on your own while we work. We do consume alcohol, but not other recreational drugs, and are non-smokers (non-smoking volunteers preferred). We are not vegetarian or vegan, and generally avoid seafood, and enjoy lots of croissants and chocolate.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Our town is quite small, < 500 people, and has a boulangerie, but no other stores or entertainment. We don't have a separate tv, but will hook up the projector for movies. There are several long, marked, country walk routes that run through our village. There is a bus that runs through twice a day as well. There is a town with restaurants, cafes, weekly market, and a small, occasional cinema about 5 km away. We do get out to explore the area, and volunteers will be usually be welcome to join, but will likely be able to enjoy the area more with their own vehicle. There are many 'plus beau villages' and castles within a hour or 90 min drive (some much closer).

    Volunteers must be fully vaccinated, and willing to follow official medical guidance on the pandemic (or other serious events). Inclusive household, though we are not spiritual or religious and proselytizers may create an uncomfortable environment (ie. we are willing to host any religion and accommodate for associated rituals, as long as we are not asked to participate or be indoctrinated).

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have strong wifi (4G). Digital nomads can use their bedroom, or the shared family spaces to do their own work.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have lots of room for private parking. We do not have separate connections for electricity or waste services (if you want to help create those services, we can discuss).

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 673671687951