Beautiful permaculture farm surrounded by gorgeous mountains and jungle in Utuado, Puerto Rico

Country

Puerto Rico

Favorito 408 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    20/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Note: we generally cannot plan more than a month or two in advance so if your preferred start dates are more than 2 months in the future, please wait to contact us. Also, we usually give preference to people who are able to stay for a minimum of a month as we like to have continuity.

    Our place is a small farm set on 37 acres of rugged jungle terrain and sits at 2,200 - 2,600 foot elevation (average year-round temperature of 72 degrees) in the south central mountains of Puerto Rico near the town of Utuado. The farm used to be a coffee farm but had been neglected for many years. We are in the process of regenerating the property using organic and permaculture principles. Our long term goal is to become self-sustaining, promote food security, and become a model for other locals. We also hope to develop the property into a small group retreat center. Our property is about 25 minutes drive time from the center of town and situated at the top of a rugged road, so your opportunities to leave the property will be limited. However, we do go to town once or twice a fortnight and we do make trips to local swimming holes/waterfalls as well as beaches.

    Amenities/Benefits:
    - lots of fresh cultivated food and fruit in season including wild berries and other fruits and plants that grow wild in the jungle
    - fresh air and natural spring water
    - peace and tranquility
    - high speed internet (we do not have a TV)
    - opportunities to visit local swimming holes and waterfalls (some within minutes of our property)
    - opportunities for beach visits and some overnight beach trips
    - opportunity to learn and/or improve your Spanish

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The farm is quite isolated but you'll have opportunities to interact with our closest neighbors who speak very little English. You'll also have some opportunities to travel around Puerto Rico to visit other farms, beaches, and waterfalls/swimming holes.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Workawayers will help with:
    - clearing trails and hillsides with tools like a machete, weeding sickle, weed trimmer, and occasionally a chainsaw if you have experience.
    - general property maintenance
    - road maintenance (the road leading to the property is dirt and requires regular maintenance)
    - Creating terraces, paths and steps
    - planting, growing, and harvesting vegetables and fruit.
    - small DIY projects
    - specialty projects like solar and spring captivation
    - photography and videography
    - cleaning (maintaining common areas)
    - cooking (associated with any shared meals)

    Expectations
    - you'll generally be helping 4-5 hours/day 5 days a week. Schedule will vary depending on projects in progress, season, and weather.
    - we are looking for hard working person/s who don't mind physical tasks that can be hot and dirty at times. You'll be using a lot of hand tools like shovels, hoes, rakes, pick axes, etc. You'll be doing a lot of walking on steep roads and trails. Temperatures are fairly mild but you are going to sweat a lot because of the humidity.
    - our property is very steep with paths and roads criss-crossing the property... so you'll need to be fit in order to enjoy the full experience.
    - you'll need to be a good listener, follow instructions and work independently at times
    - we often start our day by 6:30-7:30 am to beat the mid-day heat. If you cannot rise and be ready for work early, then please do not apply.
    - we lead very busy lives and while we will like to socialize, there will be many times that we'll be focused on our own projects.
    - we recommend you have your own primary source of income from a part-time online job or other source. Some minimal compensation may be offered to those who are staying for an extended period.
    - we live a healthy lifestyle. No smoking or recreational drugs. Alcohol and fermented drinks in moderation are fine.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Árabe: Intermediário
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I'm working on Spanish with a goal of becoming semi-fluent in 1-2 years. My parents were U.S. citizens but I was raised in the Middle East and still retain some of my Arabic language skills if anybody is interested in practicing or learning some Arabic.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You'll be staying in an old coffee processing house that has a bunk bed (full size on the bottom bunk) and a bathroom. You are welcome to eat whatever foods we generally keep on hand, but if you want something different then you can purchase your own food. We are flexitarians and eat mostly a whole food plant-based diet with as few refined or packaged foods as possible and occasionally meat and dairy.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    For additional details about the property and this workaway opportunity, please drop us a message.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We are digital nomads ourselves and spend part of the day at our computers and part of the day working outside or exploring the surrounding trails and ridges. We have very reliable redundant internet connections along with some pleasant work spaces.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicação: (5.0)









Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 663463267992