Starwatching in total dark with a real city around the corner, learning about free living - and something with a boat, Netherlands.


Países Baixos

Favorito 353 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 61 dias

  • Medalhas

  • Descrição


    Between the lively city Groningen and the beautiful nature of the Wad, lies the pitoresk town where I have a 3 acre plot. It is situated next to the canal, with a long waterside.
    I live momentarily in a big cabinhome, but the old toll house still exists.

    In the water, in front of the big shed, I have a 13 meter (43 foot) wooden ship. It was build in 1931 and was used for shrimpfishing up to 1998. Now it is rebuild as a leisure ship. But the woodwork needs some attention. I'm not going to make it totally tip top, but do some necessary repairs, so the boat can be used for a long time more.

    Other things that are on my to-do list are: rearranging the shed, making my van into a campervan, gardening, etc. The place is somewhat disorganized, because of my chaotic and lazy nature. But I like to take life at it comes.

    You can live in the cabinhome in a spare room (which you might have to share), or outside. For example in a tent somewhere, in the boat, or in the 'stookhok', whatever you prefer. You can bring your own caravan/tent if you wish.

    We can set up the inflatable whirlpool. There are horses in the meadow (not mine). You can go bikeriding on my 'ligfiets'. The sea is close, and from there you can go with low tide walking on the seabottom. Also here it is as rural as it gets in Holland, and that means it can be pitchblack at night. Good for starwatching. Also good to set bonfires.

    I need some help with the work around the house, with work on the wooden ship and garden. Sometimes I'm very active, sometimes not at all. When the weather is good, we also can take the boat on a tour to the island(s) and/or we can go 'droogvallen' on the Wad. (this is waiting with the boat for the low tide so it stands on the seabottom). When the high tide comes up, the boat can sail again. In the meanwhile, we can swim with the seals, walk on the seabed, drink something etc. But if this is going to happen, depends on lots of things.

    During the years I have been travelling a lot, and I like the easy live. At the moment a have a small passive income, so I have time to play. I'm both a mechanical engineer as a spiritual care consultant by education, but mostly a free soul and life researcher.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Projetos artísticos

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    It is really nice and quiet, and somewhat chaotic here. You can have a good time with other travellers (when there are any off course) & have bonfires. You might learn something about how to live freely and how to fix things. It's also a place to relax and have good talks. I might take you on a trip.

  • Ajuda


    You don't need to help every day as long as you make some hours a week. In exchange I provide a comfy place to sleep. And sometimes a car to use occasionally for short distances. Not all food will be provided, but at least some breakfast. Further, we can share the cooking, or you can make your own meals. The main volunteer work is on the boat, but also I need a hand with other things, since I live alone. Also housekeeping we share. You can ask me everything you need to know, but I like you to have some common sense. That is, some ability to think by yourself, and take care in the things you do versus acting like a robot that got some instructions. Also asking when you don't understand, is very much appreciated. After 5-7 days we will evaluate if the combination of you and me works out for both of us.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário
    Espanhol: Intermediário

  • Acomodação


    You have your own bed, but might have to share the room. You also have to share kitchen, bathroom and toilet with me and/or other volunteers.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The busstop is in front, where you can catch a bus directly to Groningen. Here are lots of activities, people and shops. The Groninger museum has nice expositions, and the nightlive is longer and better than that of Amsterdam. Also the province is full of architectural heritage, if you are into that. At my place, there is enough wood to make a bonfire. Places to put a hammock. Go for a ride, skate, walk, swim.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 661293143556