Help with wood-working and to establish a vegetable garden, woodland garden and renovating a 1950s homestead in Cornwall, UK

Country

Reino Unido

Favorito 71 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    18/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 8 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I am Jackie, living in a beautiful area of SW Cornwall, gradually reclaiming areas within a 3 acre wild woodland. Creating a place of creative wellbeing and renewal in nature - as a non-commercial organic farmstead aiming to grow our own food using forest garden, and other approaches. And as a place for people to welcome guests for holidays, workshops and eco-retreats in the yurts and chalet. I host voice-work and yoga/ movement sessions (currently online) and plan to offer more Reiki, foraging, creative arts & coaching -type activities from here as well. You would be helping with the land and private house, not involved with any guests.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Learn about creating a balance of wild and managed land, growing and foraging, home-made produce, and option to join in with my personal voice-work and yoga practices. Be part of a welcoming friendly quiet household. Enjoy eating and making good food together, and the occasional evening out by the fire making music or watching the stars.
    I'm happy to take you with me in the car when I'm going out to town or for a dog walk at the beach.

    MUST HAVE GOOD ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND COME WITH A SMILE :)

    PLEASE only get in touch if you have really thought through whether work-away would work for you, and you are willing to contribute - if you're just looking for private accommodation, a free all-you-can-eat buffet, or a base for other paid work, this isn't for you ;) As a result of too much time wasted, I do not take people at short notice, so please don't ask. Thanks.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    At the moment (end of April - June) I'm looking for someone with woodcutting and woodworking skills to help / take a lead on some outdoor construction - woodshed, outdoor covered seating area, making a fruit cage, fencing - and on cutting logs for firewood. Hours/exchange negotiable by experience.

    Throughout the year I'm looking for help with:
    - blackberry picking, jam-making, wine-making
    - getting in firewood, sawing & chopping logs
    - making a new wood-store
    - clearing paths through woodland
    - mowing grass
    - getting the kitchen and vegetable gardens established
    - some housework and cleaning
    - outdoor maintenance projects
    - dog walking
    - carpentry/building projects - insulating a wooden studio, and lining a garden pond
    - ideas for solar for the studio
    - ideas for an eco hot tub
    - ideas for making an outdoor oven
    - general renovation projects

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Non-smoking only.
    Accommodation is likely to be in a spare bedroom in the house, or a tent, camper van or possibly a room in the mobile home or yurt. Welcome to bring your own live-in space by arrangement. I am gluten free and the household can cater for vegetarian & vegan diets. Schedules vary and are pretty flexible, by arrangement. Visitors are expected to help keep the living spaces clean and tidy, and likely to include taking turns at housework and at cooking for the household and eating some meals together.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The local bus stops a 3 minute walk away, connecting in to the nearest towns, villages, and train station 20 minutes drive away, so getting about by public transport to arrive and on days off is easy during the day. (Local buses dont run late evening or on Sundays). There are about 50 beaches, from tiny tidal to enormous permanent sand bar, along the closest stretch of coast from Falmouth and the Helford down the Lizard peninsula - loads to explore, and lots of places to take watersports hire /classes. Falmouth is a 20 minute bus ride away and bubbling with lots of indi shops and cafes, festivals and galleries. The amazing gardens of Trebah and Glendurgan are very close and Trelissick just a bit further by car or bike.
    By foot, a short walk along footpaths over 3 fields, our closest treasure is the Potager gardens and cafe - fabulous high quality food served in a restored giant greenhouse, open Thursday to Sunday for advance bookings. Another mile and you will arrive in the village of Constantine with two local shops, one of which is famous for its enormous collection of whiskeys and spirits. The village has a church, school, doctor's surgery and community centre, pop-up food, and the popular creek-side pub at Trengilly Wartha.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Wifi available in and close to the house.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Please ask first if you need to bring a pet - needs to be well behaved and get on with other people, my dog and cat. The property is open to the road.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 648652252161