Help at our dog shelter in central Macedonia, Greece

Country

Grécia

Favorito 266 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    05/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 9 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are two animal welfare organizations, who teamed up in central Macedonia, located one hour away from Thessaloniki.

    Founded by Daniela and her friends in 2016. Most of them live in Austria and Germany, they come to Greece at least once a month. On side you will find Nopi, a crazy Greek power woman who dedicated her life to animal rescue. They are responsible for the placement of dogs in homes, communication with new dog owners and the finances.
    Since 2021 we have a cooperation which was founded by Ilias and his young, passionate team. The whole team are local, you will find them in the shelter everyday. They are responsible for the process on site.

    Our goal is to get all dogs from the streets into loving families.
    There are still dogs on the streets, we feed them each night and try to castrate them. For that reason the town is helping with castration-programs two times a year. (Which was a huge goal we reached together with the local shelter some years ago!)

    We opened our first shelter in 2017 and moved to another location in 2020.
    The place is 15 minutes outside of Veroia, where you can get everything you need. There is a small town center with lots of nice restaurants and bars. The closest supermarket is a 10 minutes drive away.

    We recommend if you come by car or camper-van!
    If you don't want to spend most time in the shelter and want to be more flexible, please keep that in mind.

    The closest Airport is SKG in Thessaloniki, from there you can take the train or bus to the shelter. There is a train to Thessaloniki which leaves two times a day and public buses which you can use to go from town to town.



    ***PLEASE ONLY TEXT IF YOU'RE INTERESTED IN VOLUNTEERING, IT'S NOT A VACATION***

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Volunteers would learn about animal welfare and the life in Greece. The laws in Greece and within the EU. How to treat dogs with special needs and special deceases which only spread in southern European countries.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We have around 60 dogs in the shelter, another 30 dogs at Ilias house and several street dogs to feed.

    The daily work in the shelter is:
    • To let the dogs out of their kennels. (That way the dogs can socialize with humans and other dogs while running and playing in the garden.)
    • To clean each water bowl and/or the pool and refill with fresh water.
    • To feed the dogs.
    • To give medicine.
    • To clean the kennels.
    • To take pictures for social media.
    • To drive to the vet.

    And
    • To play and cuddle.

    At night Ilias is going for a walk with all of the dogs at his house and will afterwards drive around the village to feed the street dogs.

    Are you good with social media? :) We noticed that it becomes more important for us too and we would be happy if you can help us to improve.

    We plan to build a terrace in front of the containers, turn some palettes into vegetable/flower beds and fence in this area nicely. Let us know if you're handy and if you maybe already have experience with building projects.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Greek: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have two containers on the property of the shelter.

    The first container is for accommodation.
    You have a bedroom, a living room with kitchen area and a bathroom.
    There is a big bed in the bedroom, in the living room you will find a couch (it's possible to turn it into a bed), a shelf to stow away some things and a dinner table with four stools. The kitchen is equipped with cook and tableware, as well as with basic food and cleaning utensils. In the bathroom you find towels and extra bedsheets.

    Outside you will find garden furniture to sit down and a small bbq.

    *Unfortunately we can not offer you meals. For that reason the container is equipped with a kitchen.*

    The second container is our quarantine station.
    It's for the puppies and ill dogs. Our vet can use one room too. The second room is for stowage of medical supplies.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We're happy if you're interested in volunteering at our shelter!
    Just send us a message with some basic informations about yourself, if you have experience with dogs and/or animal welfare and why you would be a great help in our team.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Este anfitrião está aberto a aceitar viajantes com animais de estimação.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25 hours a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (3.8)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (4.3)












Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 633533553941