Help in small organic farm and animal shelter on Chios Island in Greece

  • Favorito 1108 vezes
  • Última atividade: 10 mar. 2024



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais



  • Descrição


    A small organic farm (4.000 sq. meters) situated in the northwest of the island of Chios, 1 hour from the main city, where a great variety of vegetables is grown. There are also trees (Olive trees, orange, lemon, Chios tangerine, apricot, plum, loquat, pear, apple, fig, pomegranate, walnut, etc).

    The farm has recently turned into a small animal shelter. One needs to be a devoted animal lover to come here and have some knowledge of how to handle them. All dogs are well behaved and easy to handle. A number of cats finds refuge here too.

    I have a small flower garden and multiply and grow flowers which need to be watered and taken care of.

    The Volissos area is great for nature walks and the sea offers great swimming during summer. A botanist’s paradise during early spring. We are about 1 km away from the village of Volissos, in a very little inhabited area, 800 m away from Managros beach and 40 km away from the main town of the island, Chios. Winters are mild, summers are hot to very hot.

    The production of the vegetable garden is for our own needs.

    There is WI-FI internet access at the house.

    MINIMUM stay: 3 months

    Profile of volunteer: over 21, does not mind getting their hands dirty, with common sense.

    Accommodation type: Two room apartment with kitchen and bathroom on 1st floor of the cottage, with separate entrance and a private veranda shared with cats.

    A weekly allowance is provided to buy whatever food you like. Organic yummy vegetables are grown here during summer and the trees provide all kinds of fruit. Volunteers will be expected to take care and nurture them so they can reap their delicious sun kissed fruit and vegetables.

    Specific helping and/or living rules.
    I am looking for volunteers who after a period of 2 weeks of learning the basics and routine of the farm, can take care of it (animals and plants), while I go away for 3 months to work elsewhere.

    Committed and responsible people and mature volunteers are welcome. Driver's licence necessary. Pets are welcome provided they behave and do not do damage to the house.

    This is a drug and excessive alcohol-free farm. A minimum stay of 3 months is required.

    Months Needed: Please check calendar.

    Further information:
    Pros: You will be a farmer for a while, master of the farm, working on your own timetable. What is need is that the daily needed work is done.
    Cons: What I teach during this short period as far as organic agriculture is concerned is limited and there is more to learn during spring than autumn for instance.

    For 2023 I need help during the month of October for olive collection

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de animais
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    A first hand experience on how to grow vegetables organically
    Close contact with animals, their needs, health problems and behaviour

  • Ajuda


    During summer: Weeding, Watering of plants and trees with mainly automatic drip system, and all other necessary farm tasks
    Feeding, watering, cleaning dogs, cats and chickens.
    During winter: Taking care of the animals.
    Olive harvest, (End October)
    General farm jobs (pruning, spraying, wood cutting, grass cutting, woodchip making, seaweed collection, weeding, planting, maintaining winter and summer vegetables, collection of produce etc)
    All tasks needed to keep the farm running well.

  • Idiomas

    Greek: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    Accommodation is at the apartment above my cottage which has 2 rooms, bathroom, kitchen, veranda and private entrance and can accommodate up to 2 volunteers.

    Max number of volunteers at all times: 2

    Min stay: 3 months

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Chios is a beautiful island with lots of history and fortlike villages. It is the only place in the world where the gum mastic is produced. There are lots of nature walks around the area, lots of wild flowers for the flora enthusiasts mainly during winter and early spring.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Yes, if they take good care of animals and farm along with their work duties.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    I accept pets provided they behave and the volunteers are responsible for any damage they do in the apartment and make sure it is restored to its original state.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 153955147755

Comentário (12)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.8)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.3)

Comunicação: (3.8)

Help our project with natural building, agriculture and community life, Makra Logka, Greece
Help us make our dream place come true in Santorini, Greece