Family farm with horses welcomes all your good ideas near Tartu, Estonia

Country

Estónia

atualizado  

Favorito 29 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    09/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello! We are a young family living in the countryside near Tartu (15 km). We bought the place two years ago and have done a lot already. But more and more ideas come every day! This year we plan to extend our horse facilities (paddock paradise) and start up a garden (permaculture). There are a lot of small things around the house and farm, which needs doing. You are welcome to be part of the process and learn on the way. If you are interested in learning about horses, that's the place too, as we have three of them. I (Piret, the host) can teach you about horsemanship, groundwork and the academic art of riding*, which is my passion. I am thinking a lot about the environment, sustainability, permaculture, degrowth etc, and working as a climate expert in Estonian Fund for Nature. We have a 1,5-year-old son called Iko and a cat called Taavi. One day, we will have more farm animals, for sure. My other half Tenno is working in the IT sector, and he used to be a sound engineer. He is doing the building stuff around the farm. We used to travel around quite a lot when we were young(er). Thus it would be nice to host some travellers in our home too!

    We try to combine modern conveniences with eco-conscious living, having solar panels and an electric car, and an automatic heating system, but then try to grow more and more food ourselves, reduce our environmental footprint, buy local and organic, and preserve food for winter etc. The farm is still a work in progress, so there is always lots of small and big stuff to do.

    As we have two rooms upstairs we can host a maximum of two workawayers at the same time.


    *Academic art of riding is combining the physical and mental well-being of the horse and for getting to the riding part there is a lot of preparation from the ground. Thus, I cannot offer you riding, but it's more about how to communicate with a horse from the ground, and how to prepare it for riding mentally and physically.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I (Piret, the host) can teach you about horsemanship, groundwork and the academic art of riding, which is my passion. Also, I can share experiences on how to keep horses - I am developing a paddock paradise (track system) for my horses and can tell you all about that. I can also show you how to take care of the hooves of the horse. I am still a beginner in permaculture gardening but have some theoretical knowledge which I am happy to share.
    Tenno's favourite topics are IT, sound engineering, music, and foreign politics which he is always happy to chat about. You can learn about building things which we also learn all the time here!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are very flexible on what help you can offer, depending on your abilities and wishes. Still, playing around 2 h/day with our son is something we appreciate, so you should be up to that. We really welcome people who like cooking and can take this up as a task, but this is not a must. Other things you can help us with are for example, horse maintenance and development of the horse facilities, development of the garden and gardening, building around the house and the farm, preserving foods for winter.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Estonian: Fluente
    Swedish: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You have your own room on the second floor and if we are ready with it then your own bathroom (with toilet but no shower). We expect you to keep your own place tidy. We live on the first floor. On the first floor, there is a bathroom with a shower. You can also use a sauna (separate house) as you wish. We will heat up the sauna from time to time, especially for social events, which you are more than welcome to join.

    We eat a lot of local and organic food. Sometimes we also eat meat but cook a lot of vegetarian food, no problem to do some vegan food as well if you prefer so. It would be nice if you are willing to share your cooking skills with us.:) We eat what we currently have at home and do not shop every day. My cooking style is to look into the cupboard and mix something up. Eating times are not by the clock, though we eat 3 times a day. Morning comes always with porridge and Sunday is with pancakes.

    We are spending quite a lot of time at home (home office and farm work), but sometimes also go away for a few days. If we go somewhere for a day trip and you would like to join, then we are happy to take you.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    It is possible to reach our place by free bus ride (20 min) from the Tartu bus station. Buses go around once every hour, which makes it easy to visit Tartu from time to time.

    We live in the countryside, so it's a quiet place and it's possible to walk around our land or on our village road. However, we don't have hiking trails or anything like this next to our property. For that, you would need to have a trip to some nature trail (we can recommend you, if interested).

    We appreciate your own initiative and ideas. We have quite a busy schedule, dividing our time between working, having a little kid and a farm. But we go with the flow and take what the day has for us.

    Our day-to-day work is behind the screen (often home office), thus during weekdays we might not be doing the work together with you and you should be able to enjoy the time/work by yourself too. But of course, we also work around the house/farm and there are times when we can do things together. And with guidance, we can help of course.

    If we have trip together somewhere for fun you are expected to pay your own admission fees, meals (or alternatively take food from home) ect. If it's related to some task you do, then of course we can pay.

    As you are part of our home and family during your time with us, we expect you to share common everyday tasks with us for keeping the house tidy.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have decent wifi here and have home office for ourselves too.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We can provide you with electricity and water.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    If pets can stay outside, then there is no problem (if they don't chase horses). We prefer no pets indoors (the main reason is that we do not fancy cleaning). Our own cat spends the summer outside and only stays with us in the house in the winter.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 629919115823