Learn homesteading skills in the Oregon Coast range, Philomath, USA

Country

EUA

Favorito 689 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    11/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    90.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 5 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We live on 5 acres in the country with our two dogs and a bunch of laying hens. We're just outside the small town of Philomath, Oregon, 5 miles from the university town of Corvallis, 2 hours south of Portland, 45 minutes from the beautiful Oregon coast, and 1 1/2 hours from the Cascades. Lots of cultural events in town and abundant hiking from our doorstep in every direction!

    We have a huge organic garden, greenhouses, and an orchard. We grow most of our own produce. We heat with wood that we harvest from our property. We try to live simply and lightly on the Earth.

    Paul is a musician, and Janice is an activist who works for immigrant justice and with a senior dog rescue.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We love to meet people from other places. We've traveled quite a bit in Latin America and Europe ourselves, and our favorite memories are of the times we got to "live like a local" and got to know people. Janice speaks fluent Spanish and passable French and Portuguese (although she's a bit rusty on those last two!) Now that we're settled on our homestead, we love to share that experience with travelers!

    Paul is a skilled musician who has played guitar in an eclectic mix of bands over the years. He's currently in a quasi-bluegrass band called Cheatgrass, but has also played rock, jump blues, and swing. If you're musically inclined, we'll have a great time! Paul also taught guitar at the middle school where he worked, and is a wonderful teacher.

    And the Pacific Northwest is a great place to live! We have mountains (active volcanoes!), miles of gorgeous coastline, and sublime high deserts. Oh, and fantastic rivers! We're river rats, and would love to take you whitewater rafting and kayaking on local rivers.

    We travel a lot to places where there's no internet access during the summer so it may take a week or two before were able to get back to you. Thanks for your patience!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We can always use help on the property: mowing, weeding, cutting firewood, planting, harvesting, preserving food, and constructing outbuildings. The tasks vary with the season. You'll have the opportunity to learn to use chainsaws, power tools, and weedwhackers if you don't already know how. We'll also work together in the garden where you'll learn skills for homesteading or market gardening. (Janice has a degree in horticulture.) We use organic practices in the gardens.

    We'll be traveling some this spring/summer and will be looking for people to housesit as well as to help alongside us. You'll be responsible for taking care of the dogs, the gardens and the chickens. This must be a person or couple who really loves and is comfortable with dogs.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Português: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Work-Away guests share the sweet garden cottage, a "tiny house" tucked away in a garden next to our house. The cottage has a deck with a full outdoor kitchen. Inside there's a futon couch, a desk, and a small loft that can be used for sleeping or storage. There's an outdoor shower and a composting (dry) outhouse. Depending on the number of guests when you're here, you might share the outdoor kitchen.

    Breakfast and lunch will always be on your own, and you'll have everything you need to prepare your meals in the cottage kitchen. There's a 4 burner stove and oven, a toaster oven, and a microwave, as well as a blender, crockpot, and kitchen utensils and plates and bowls. There are always fresh eggs from the hens, and fresh vegies and fruits from the garden and orchard which vary with the season. We'll also provide you with basics like grains (locally grown), beans (from the garden), and cheese. For the most part, we eat locally grown food in season, and the bulk of it comes from our garden. That means that different produce is available at different times during the season. We typically eat chicken and/or seafood a couple of times during the week. If you want special food items or have special dietary needs, there are plenty of stores in town where you can find what you're looking for.

    We share dinners about 3 times a week which we take turns cooking. Meal preparation is not considered part of the 25 helping hours during the week.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Enjoy peaceful life in the country. The coyotes and owls will serenade you at night. Hike nearby trails or visit the beautiful Oregon coast (40 minute drive) or the snow-covered Cascade Mountains. Sip wine from a local winery or visit the bustling farmers' market.

    Philomath is an up and coming rural community with funky restaurants, brew pubs, and even a small historical museum. The university town of Corvallis has even more to offer in this department. The area is renowned for being bike-friendly, and we have bikes you can borrow. We're surrounded by wineries, hiking trails, and rivers to float. Another fun experience our WorkAwayers can enjoy on their day off is visiting our friends' farm just down the road. Our friends tend sheep, goats, turkeys, and bees and in the past our guests have helped shear sheep, milk goats and make goat cheese, and extract honey from their hives. It's a lovely bike ride to their farm, and we have bikes you can borrow to get there. And for a winter special, I'll tell you where my favorite mushroom foraging sites are located!

    For the safety of everyone in our community, we can only accept guests who are fully vaccinated against COVID and are willing to follow COVID protocols.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have decent internet and have had several WorkAway guests who had part-time remote work. Janice also works remotely.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25 hours a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)
















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 627227367721