Help me with a few gardening and house projects in a small village in Somerset, UK


Reino Unido


Favorito 612 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  • Descrição



    We live in a beautiful 400 year old traditionally built home in the heart of the idyllic Somerset countryside. We are on the edge of a small village with a pub, but only 5 mins drive (or short cycle ride) from the nearest town which has shops. We are about 25 mins from Glastonbury and 40 minutes from the Jurassic Coast. There are walks to be had from the house and plenty of gorgeous villages to visit, many with cosy country pubs!

    We are at home all the time, my husband works for an IT company and I look after our animals, large garden and home which constantly needs attention! We are looking for a couple to come and help us with restoration and decoration projects around the house, as well as gardening if the weather is permitting! We have two dogs, a cat, chickens and runner ducks. We have had Workawayers here during most of 2020, who learned skills such as woodworking - making furniture, creating new veg beds and growing vegetables and fruit in order for us all to be self sufficient. We had vegans here for a few months who didn't go hungry!!

    You will sleep in our beautiful twin bedroom annexe with ensuite, small kitchen and a sitting room. During the summer months this is used as a B&B, but you will not be asked to help with this or any guests as it is closed during the time when we have Workaways here.

    We enjoy trying new foods that our Workaways have cooked for us and we like to make traditional British meals for them also, so we have a balance of sometimes eating together and chatting over music and board games, but you will also sometimes cook for yourselves and have as much privacy and your own space as you need. I also enjoyed giving our last helpers some English lessons and helping them with specific topics as I used to be a TEFL teacher.

    Please get in touch if you have any questions!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    As I am an experienced TEFL teacher, our Workawayers have improved their English a lot by helping alongside us and also from having lively discussions over dinner about anything from world affairs to our favourite films, music and British TV shows.
    We grow our own vegetables which we love to cook and try out new recipies which we share with our guests, and it's such fun to challenge their ideas about British food! It has been really interesting to hear people's stories, their journey though life and the path that brought them to us. Hosting Workaway's is a great opportunity to share these cultural tales.
    The local area is full of cultural opportunities from learning ancient crafts, visiting historical sites such as Stonehenge and Glastonbury, to tasting locally made food and drink.

  • Ajuda


    We are looking for a couple to help us with a variety of tasks around the garden and the house. I have a shoulder problem and am unable to do any lifting or stretching so it is useful to have someone who can help with things like turning compost or pushing the lawnmower. We have some indoor tasks that we would love some help with, as well as gardening, and housework. We have two super friendly dogs who love to be walked and the chickens need cleaning and feeding. We would expect to discuss and agree with the helper prior to their starting what their abilities and dislikes are so they can do the tasks that appeal more to them.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Italiano: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I spent a year living in Italy teaching English and have also taught at summer language schools in the UK. We also have a house in Brittany, France, so our French is ok but could do with some improvement!

  • Acomodação


    You would stay in our beautiful twin bedroom, self-contained annexe which has a modern ensuite bathroom, kitchen and living room. You will have your own TV.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    On your days off you could visit great sites like Stonehenge, Glastonbury and the Jurassic Coast. There are buses into town from the bottom of the road, or we can give you a lift. You can borrow our bikes and it is a great area for walking and cycling straight from the back door.
    You have plenty of space here to relax around the garden, or indoor space if you prefer to work on your own IT projects, crafts, play games, do your Yoga or whatever floats your boat!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have good wifi here. Richard works from home and hosts conferences for people all over the world with no problems.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have had a large campervan parked here before, there is plenty of space inside our courtyard area.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 625512263842