Come and help fix up our hurricane damaged home in the Virgin Islands


Ilhas Virgens Americanas


Favorito 666 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 15 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

  • Descrição


    We are two yoga teachers who run a non-profit on St Thomas in the Virgin Islands. We teach yoga to kids and adults in the community and sailing/mindfulness for youth throughout the Caribbean. While we have occasional tasks for the nonprofit, most of our workaway needs currently are focused around the homestead.

    We are looking for some help fixing/renovating our hurricane damaged home. We’re currently focused on basic repairs like painting and pressure washing and debris removal as well as basic concrete block work. The more construction/repair work is normally supplemented by land/gardening work of: clearing the land, fertilizing the terraces/garden, re-potting, propagating, and other fun land activities. We are open to any builders, farmers, gardeners, composters, or any other greenworking/lightworking people staying with us. We have rooms available for volunteers with shared shower, kitchen and living space.

    During off time volunteers enjoy hanging out at the house, playing games, exploring the island, visiting local beaches, hiking nearby, tasting the local cuisine, and making shared meals.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We love to practice yoga, hang out at the beach, and we often run errands throughout the week so we can always coordinate dropping you off somewhere along the way. Many volunteers hitch, walk, or take safaris around the island. It is possible although expensive to rent a car, and our neighbor runs a safari taxi (~$10-20) to get to most places around the island.

    You can learn about tropical vegetation, free diving or scuba diving, holistic wellness/healing, terracing/growing food and home renovation.

    Tyler is a sailor who was born and raised here so you will get to have a very locally guided experience. We love home cooked vegan/vegetarian meals and getting to know new friends!

  • Ajuda


    Construction, carpentry, demolition, terracing, masonry, tiling, painting, gardening, terracing, composting, yoga teaching... pretty open to any help with the home/projects we run.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    We have an apartment with a shared bathroom, kitchen and living space that workaways can share. We split beds up by gender so that single workawayers of the same gender can room together, or if a bedroom is free, a couple can have their own private bedroom. We also have camping gear if you'd like to be outside on the property :) The house is on a mountaintop overlooking the ocean and the British Virgin Islands, St John and a few smaller islands.

    We don't provide meals but you are welcome to the community rice, pantry items, and any vegetables in the garden. We will help you get to a grocery store upon arrival. Liz sometimes gets the urge to whip up a big vegan lunch and we all eat together.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    In your time off hang out at the house and get to know your fellow volunteers, walk to the beach, explore the island, go sailing or boating, take a diving course, hop on a ferry to St John, hike or enjoy the day at the house. Lots of beaches, snorkeling, food, local fruit, water activities, interesting people, yoga classes, spiritual gatherings, and more.

    The beach is a 25 minute hike from the house. There is a safari line that connects the rest of the island once you're in town. We're happy to take you with us when we drive there (which we typically do every week).

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We have animals in the neighborhood/on property so as long as they get along with other animals we are happy to welcome your fur kids

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    20-25 hours per week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.9)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 621139197315