Help us with an off-grid cabin renovation in native forest, Omotumotu Valley, New Zealand

Country

Nova Zelândia

Favorito 14 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    21/04/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 20 dias

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Two friends (Tom and Annelise) have recently co-bought a 30-acre section of native forest up the top end of the Omoto Valley, on which to create a space where ourselves, friends, and family can feel at home.

    There's a small cabin which sits up on an old river terrace, under a canopy of rata and rimu trees, with a view out across a valley of Podocarp forest, where one sees no sign of habitation, nor hears any road noises. There's no vehicle access to the cabin (it's a ~7 minute walk from the road end) and there's no utility services connected - so it's pretty simple living.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The West Coast bush is one the most remote and beautiful places in New Zealand. Omoto cabin offers the opportunity to live in what feels to be a very remote location (but yet close to town for anything you need) and close to the endless outdoor pursuits!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The summer of 2020 / 2021 saw us both living + working on the land for nearly 3-months, with our desires to achieve a lot of work certainly being fulfilled. The conversion of our 350-meter long mud slurried, unbridged access route to the cabin into a graveled, trainer shoe friendly track was the first project. The planting of some 80 fruit trees, digging of a vegetable garden, cutting of a 2-km long trapping network track, and helicoptering of 8-tones of materials, were a few projects that followed. Our main focus was then directed to the building of a second 25m2 cabin, which is being created mostly out of recycled timbers + materials and is currently at the stage of being a water-tight shell with the future promise of becoming a guest / project room. Along with the time required to lay the associated electrical + plumbing lines, we're hoping to draw this project to a finish by the start of winter, with Tom envisaging being based on the coast for the rest of the year, while Annelise is back up in Nelson for her work position there. In spring / summer 2021 we're looking at starting renovations on the original cabin, with possible side projects including making a pizzas oven, fire-bath, composting toilet, further track cutting, etc.



    Practical building skills, self-initiative and creativity would be three great assets for anyone to bring with them, but don't worry if you're not from a carpentry / building background; if you're keen to help or learn, then your time will still be much appreciated by us.
    This is our story in short, and as with any venture - many hands + friendly faces make work easier and more enjoyable, so we're warmly welcoming anyone enthusiastic to come and join us!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Living here is very simple; electricity will (soon) be solar, water is from the roof, the toilet is a well functioning long drop, and showering is (currently) from a bucket, or in a pool in the local creek. The cabin itself is only 1-room - and so for volunteers / visitors we'll be setting up tents with mattresses inside and tarps over them (to create larger awning spaces). Surrealy enough there is in fact cellphone coverage from the cabin.

    For anyone motivated in joining us, we will happily offer you food + shelter whilst you're staying, and we'll ask for a half day's work in return. We're not fussy about which part of the days you'd like to help out, or if you'd like to take the odd days off to visit the region, but we do ask that you stay with us for 1-week or longer.
    Travel from the road end to Greymouth is unbelievably only a 7-minute drive! and we'd be happy to pick you up from there / the turn off at Kaiata.
    If you're coming in a van (and wish to sleep there) then conveniently the last 1-km of road is private (with a locked gate), there's a large, flat area at the start of the track to the cabin, and our two neighbours are both friendly!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are about 7 minutes drive from Greymouth - for supermarkets, petrol stations, shops, laundry, hospital and all the usual supplies in a small local town. There are endless walks and tramping options on the West Coast and lots of coastline to explore!
    There is cellphone reception with spark (and some 2 degrees) at the cabin

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Este anfitrião está aberto a aceitar viajantes com animais de estimação.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Half a day's help


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 615363287559