1 / 5

Help us create an abundant permaculture garden on our family farm in Absberg, Germany

  • Alemanha
  • Favorito 17 vezes
  • Última atividade: 31/12/2022

Disponibilidade

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Our farm is located in a small village, in the `Franconian Lake District` - `Fränkisches Seenland`, around 30 km south of Nürnberg. For generations our family has specialised mainly in the cultivation of old cherry varieties on high trunks. We have over 200 fruit trees, including 140 cherry trees. Our land is located in a hilly landscape in the middle of orchard meadows and vast forests. The area is about 4 ha (meadows, orchard, pond and forest plots). Our experimental edible food forest was started in Autumn 2019 and covers around 200m².

    Our family farm is run by myself, my wife, and my mother on a part-time basis. We try to do most things ourselves, and are supported by friends when they are available. Unfortunately, we are still far away from self-sufficiency, especially when it comes to time, work, and finances. We are looking forward to committed, interested and flexible volunteers, who like to work with their own hands and bring in their own skills and experience. We are always open to new ideas. In the past years people from different countries and continents have helped on our farm (USA, South America, Taiwan, Iraq).

    I have spent over two years abroad (mainly in Australia / New Zealand and Southeast Asia). Before that I often travelled to Africa, the Middle East and Asia, and worked there with various NGO`s and aid projects. In 2018, I completed a course titled "Organic Agriculture Trainer" in Switzerland. I also completed courses in Practical Permaculture and a Permaculture Design Course in 2021.

    For almost three years now, an expansion, or extension, has been taking place on our properties. The goal of the transformation or redesign of the site is to get a collection of old, rare and exotic varieties of fruits and vegetables to preserve and propagate them in the long term. In addition, to allow all interested and knowledgeable visitors to visit and exchange information. This can be intensified in the future through various trainings and courses. Furthermore, an area is planned to develop and test various small-scale agricultural projects in a modular way. Here, a cultivation of special crops or old vegetable varieties and different biological cultivation methods are planned.

    One of our goals is to eventually be able to live off of the income created by the farm. At this point, any money made does not cover the expenses of running the farm. This is why we are still a non-for-profit farm, and are working to build the infrastructure to make this goal a reality in the future.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are a mixed cultural household (German, Canadian / Middle Eastern), who have travelled to and lived in many parts of the world. We want this house to be a place where people from all around the world can gather, get to know each other, and share their experiences. So far we have had people staying with us from Europe, US, South America, Asia and Africa.

    In this experience, you can learn the principles and practices of permaculture, including fruit tree pruning, planting, or construction tasks. You can also learn how to improve your life through implementing good habits and nutrition, and healthy, delicious cooking with all-natural ingredients.

    We are on the journey of learning how to live sustainably and to take our responsibility of stewardship in creation. We invite you to join us, so that we can all learn from each other.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Workawayers will be assisting us in the running of the farm, however will not be involved with helping with the produce that we sell (due to regulations). Tasks include setting up ladders for pruning the trees, weeding different areas of the property, caring for the family vegetable garden, re-potting seedlings, planting various trees, herbs and ground cover crops, helping with permaculture methods, particularly in the fruit forest area. In spring and autumn, we focus on planting fruit and nut trees. In winter, we do more renovations in the house, tool maintenance and preparing the farm for winter.

    There are many ongoing DIY projects, such as building compost toilets and dry stone walls, and house renovations. Maintenance tasks usually includes repairing tools and the machinery (tractor).

    We always have something to do here, but the tasks are too much for us alone. That's why we need you to come alongside us and build up this beautiful piece of land. We are looking to share the experience with others who enjoy the outdoors. We love committed volunteers, and we also know how to celebrate together after a successful day, such as having a campfire or barbecue, or swimming in the nearby lake.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Árabe: Fluente
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have several guest rooms in our old farm house, from a single room, a twin room and a shared room / living room with mattress / couch sleeping areas. The bathroom and toilet will be shared with the family.

    The kitchen is also shared with the family and we prefer to cook and eat our meals together. In summertime we will have some meals outside in the orchard. We try to get regional food and fruits / veggies which are partially grown on our farm. We mostly cook vegetarian meals but can make allowances for non-vegetarians as well. But we are really flexible with cooking especially in regards to allergies.

    Internet is also available in our house, but it is not the fastest connection.

    We have a strict non-smoking and no-drug policy in our house.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The next train stations are around 15-20 min away by car and there is no public transportation to or from the village. But we can provide a pick up from the train station upon request. The city of Nürnberg is around 1h away, where you can find museums, the Emperors Castle and many other sightseeing opportunities.

    The Altmühl-, Brombach- and Igelsbachsee are each about 15 min away. There are many recreational opportunities such as swimming, boating, surfing, SUP or water skiing or ice skating in winter. You can also rent a bike from us to discover the area around the village. The area also has a lot of scenic views and many hiking paths.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We are welcoming campervans or motorhomes, but we don`t have electrical power, fresh water or a normal toilet on our main property. So you need to be off grid. But you can use shower / toilet, as well as power and internet in our house.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 584978774275

Comentário (1)

Fotos

Comentário


Share traveling stories and help with some home projects in Hohenfels, Germany
Help us in the garden and around our home close to the Baltic Sea in northern Germany