A little patch of paradise, organic farm and vineyard near the amazing south coast in Marbelup, Australia

Country

Austrália

atualizado  

Favorito 490 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    26/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    173

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 5 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are former health professionals, turned vignerons (those who grow grapes and make wine) with a passion for environmental sustainability, so our small farm is certified organic. We built a passive solar, environmentally-friendly house and enjoy a busy, but relaxed and healthy lifestyle. Our wines have won many awards and we have been featured widely in the media, lately because Prince Charles visited us on his Australian visit. We are experienced hosts, having been a member of a similar scheme since 2002, and have a guest book full of lovely, positive testimonials from previous volunteers.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You can learn about organic farming/gardening, enjoy a tranquil and beautiful location, stay in our comfortable passive-solar house that we built ourselves, enjoy drinking our award winning wine and learning more about wine appreciation and wine making. We can also teach you some interesting Australian language.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    If you are fit, healthy, willing and happy travellers we invite you to help us with our small family-run, certified organic vineyard in near Albany on the Amazing South Coast of Western Australia. Albany is 400km from Perth (only 1 hour via plane) and is a beautiful, historic, seaside town. We have hosted many such travellers under a similar scheme and we thoroughly enjoy the cultural exchange that occurs, as well as being very grateful for the help we receive.

    You will not need a lot of experience just enthusiasm, general fitness and basic English language skills. In exchange for your help for 5 hours per day we will provide you with accommodation, use of our bicycles, all meals - including wine with dinner - and much more. In addition to the work hours, we also expect that you will assist with meal preparation and cleaning up. Like any good house guest we expect you to also clean up after yourself (there are no house-maids to do this), so if you are not willing to participate in these aspects of being hosted, please do not apply. We are sharing the privilege of our home and our lives in exchange for the privilege of your help. We will not treat you like a slave and we expect that you will not behave as if our home is a hotel. Please note, that as with all previous guests, we guarantee to host you only for the first two nights/three days. If your attitude and behaviour meets our expectations you will be invited to stay longer (don't worry, the majority of previous guests stayed for as long as they wanted). Likewise, you do not need to commit to staying with us for a particular amount of time. If you decide, after the first three days, that what we offer does not suit you, you are welcome to move on. We will not be offended.

    The types of things you might do here include: general gardening (mulching, picking fruit, pruning), help in the vineyard (depending on the season - maintenance, pruning, picking), food preparation (drying & preserving fruit) and clean-up of the food processing area, assisting with sheep.

    Given the current risk of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), we kindly ask that if you develop a respiratory illness (influenza symptoms, such as cough and/or fever) in the days or weeks prior to your arrival date, please CANCEL your stay with us, or at least contact us to discuss it. This is very important to us and we will not be able to provide you with a position here. We trust you understand. Both of us are fully COVID vaccinated, and because our income is dependant solely on us, we cannot afford to get ill. We will supply you with a rapid COVID test kit upon arrival.


    OUR PROPERTY:
    We have an 3 hectare vineyard as well as a large mixed fruit orchard (fresh fruit all year round!) and vegetable garden, 2 alpachas, several dozen Wiltshire sheep plus a small friendly dog who loves meeting new house guests. The property is certified organic and we originally planted the gardens using permaculture principles. We are also proponents of Regenerative Farming.

    SIGHTS AND SOUNDS:
    We are about a 10 minute drive from the regional town of Albany, which is a gateway to many adventures and natural attractions, including beautiful bays and beaches. We are happy to help you out with guidance and advice about tours and and hikes. Having your own car is ideal if you wish to see more than just the town, but not essential.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You can stay in our guest room (in the house) which sleeps 3 people and has its own bathroom & toilet. There is also a caravan suitable for a couple in the summer. You will mostly eat with us (we enjoy a mixed mediterranean style diet - a little ethically-raised meat/chicken/fish with plenty of fruit and vegetables, olive oil and wine) and you will be encouraged to cook at least one shared-meal (preferably from your own culture) per week. We are unable to cater for Vegans, sorry. Our house is comfortable, clean and cosy. Smoking is not permitted inside the house, and is discouraged even outside during the summer months. Campervans are welcome.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are many natural attractions in the area (most require a car) including:-
    - Stirling Range (hiking)
    - Wild flowers (in season)
    - Some of the best beaches and bays in Australia
    - Whale watching (from boats)
    - Many bicycle and walking trails
    Albany is 10 minutes by car or 40 minutes by bicycle from our farm.

    Note: We have limited internet service available so we cannot offer unlimited access to the internet. Checking emails, googling/searching is fine, but watching movies/videos on-line is not possible.
    As we are a working farm and there is a large dam (lake) in front of our house, our property is NOT suitable for children.
    We generally cannot allow other pets on our property, particularly as we have sheep.
    There is no direct public transport available to our place, so having your own transport is preferable but not essential as we can arrange to transfer you to the bus station in Albany, a 10 minute drive from our farm or the airport, which is only 5 minutes away. Ask us about how to get a cheap airfare to Albany from Perth if you don't want to sit on a bus for 6 hours. Also ask our advice for the best bus to book because it is easy to get on one that goes the long way!
    We sit down together for evening meals, and try to also do so for breakfast and lunch times but it does depend on the work schedule. We expect that you will assist us with meal preparation and cleaning up so if you are not willing to participate in this aspect of being hosted, please do not apply. The workaway website has an excellent basic summary of how to be a workaway guest. It is recommended reading. We give priority to prospective guests who have reviews from previous Workaway hosts or other forms of references.
    Please do not come if you are ill or are developing a respiratory illness like influenza or COVID.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Campervans welcome. We are happy to negotiate fewer hours each day, depending on whether or not you choose to eat with us.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Only small dogs and those who will not chase sheep etc....but only on a case by case basis, as we have our own fiesty doggo.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    maximum 25 hours a week, 2 days off

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)










































Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 579551943264