Help out at a unique project and enjoy the beautiful rural community of Malalcahuello, Chile

Country

Chile

atualizado  

Favorito 48 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    21/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hey to All!

    We are Kris and James, a Canadian/ New Zealander couple, who have been living in Chile for years. We met in 2015 at the bus terminal in Santiago Chile. Kris was backpacking around South America at the time, and James was running a hostel in Pucon, Chile (where we have had heaps of experience working with Workawayers!!). Kris ended up working at the hostel for 5 years, before we decided we needed a change of scenery and a new project! At the end of 2019 we moved from Pucon to Malalcahuello. We have spent the last two years here designing, and constructing, a non-typical style of accommodation. Our goal is to create a very unique and magical experience for our future guests, and we would love your help!

    The entire structure has recently been completed, and we are now looking to start work on the room designs, and other interior details. Everything we are looking to create is out of the ordinary, so people looking to improve on skills they already have or interest in creating new and exciting things, this would be a fun experience for you! Anyone with the ability to create unique pieces of furniture would be a huge help to us! Of course handy people of all sorts (for example people with experience building fences, hanging light fixtures, dry wall repairs etc..), artists, painters, graphic designers, landscapers, people who love to clean (haha), all would be helpful to us.

    Malalcahuello is a beautiful rural community, tucked away in the Andes and on route to the border of Argentina. The area is full of lakes, waterfalls, trekking, mountain biking and some of the best skiing in southern Chile, which shockingly isn’t very touristic yet. We have a fairly large property, with some beautiful volcano and mountain views, a large river side section (that requires a bit of bush-wacking to get to) and we have direct access to a several kilometer long bike lane, which links the nearest towns. It’s a very peaceful and quiet place to be. Also to note, we are parents to a beautiful fluffy cat, called Maple and a Border collie pup called Taika. Another thing worth mentioning is we currently do not have WIFI, so if you are in need of the internet during your stay we would recommend that you get an Entel phone card. Since we are quite rural, Entel works the best on our property.

    For your help we can offer you a private room, with ensuite bathroom. Further, Kris is excited to practise her cooking skills on new people, as she will be the chef of the lodge, so of course we will provide your meals (GOOD MEALS!). We can offer the use of our bikes, for getting around and enjoying the nature. We are a young, easy going, flexible and active couple, so we will make sure you have a great time with us and get to explore the area! There is a lot to do during your time off, like mountain biking, relaxing by the river or in our garden, fishing, hiking, visiting waterfalls, trekking in the national parks and reserves, and of course experiencing the real Chilean life in a small rural town. Like we mentioned previously, we have tons of hosting experience through workaway from our time at James' hostel in Pucon, so we know how to treat our guests well, and how to work efficiently together while having a good time!

    We look forward to hosting you!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Malalcahuello is a very small local Chilean town, surrounded by pristine nature. It is a very real glimpse of rural Chile. There are heaps of different outdoor activities to take part in and enjoy in the area, as we mentioned above. We are more than happy to spend time with you outside of the helping hours, introduce you to our friends in the area and take you on some fun adventures! We are not Chilean, but we do speak Spanish, so if you are looking to improve your language skills, in either English or Spanish we are more than happy to speak with you in either language! We also love a good Chilean asado, and would love to invite you to join us!

    As well, we are passionate backpackers, who have travelled to many different countries around the world. We love chatting about travel and can share our experiences with you.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Anyone with experience in furniture making, painting, gardening, electricals and carpentery would be a big help at this time. If you think you have any other valuable skills please don´t hesitate to contact us, we are happy to hear from you! :)

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We are currently living on site and thus we have 7 extra rooms with ensuite bathroom that will eventually become guestrooms. Meaning, we have heaps of space to host, and can offer a private bedroom and bathroom. The property is 2 hectares so there is lots of space outside to enjoy as well, and we own pretty much all the sporting equipment you can dream of to play with!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    During your time off you can busy yourself with little walks about town, biking, hiking, hanging out by the river, and siteseeing. We are happy to take you on some adventures as well, perhaps to different towns, or different national parks. We are a young couple, who are extremely active and love to explore, so we will make sure you aren´t bored during your time with us!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 561666547342