atualizado  

Share skills and creativity at our beautiful, fun and creative house in Detroit, USA

  • Favorito 75 vezes
  • Última atividade: 4 abr. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi! Our names are Kristen and Alyssa, we are best friends and we bought our beloved house together after years of renting it in Southwest Detroit. Kristen (32 years old) is an English as a Second Language teacher and Alyssa (28 years old) is a Ceramics teacher. We are super friendly, love meeting new people, and spend a lot of time in Detroit's local music and art circles. We're looking for social people to stay with us, exchange knowledge, and we're hoping to gain some friends along the way :)

    Our house was built in the 1890s and though is totally livable, needs a lot of help! It's also quite a big house for just us two, and we like having more people around! The projects we need help on would depend on time of year and your personal area of expertise / interest.

    We have big big dreams for our house and are excited for the journey!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Detroit is an amazing city, rich in history. We know the city very well. We can take you out, show you around, and share its history. We're also quite well-connected and can help you make the connections you're looking for.
    Although we're still learning, we have learned quite a bit about house renovations - maybe we can all learn from each other in that regard!
    Also, we'll have fun!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We plan on hiring people for some of the bigger projects (gutters, potentially bathroom renovations).

    There are lots of projects we will do ourselves (painting, window restoration, some bathroom renovations). These projects you can help us with, if you'd like! We are handy and have done quite a lot of projects ourselves, but we are still learning - we'd love to share skills :)

    In addition to that, there are lots of things to do around the house. We could also use help with general cleaning/maintenance and organizing. Kristen is a dedicated gardener and is always redesigning the flower and vegetable gardens. Alyssa is an artist and has many big-picture goals for art projects. A few times a year, we throw big themed costume parties and we always need help with decorations (we go big lol). Our house is a creative, social, community-driven space and we love to meet new people with whom we can share creative and musical inspiration

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Árabe: Iniciante
    Alemão: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Kristen teaches English to Spanish and Arabic speakers and is happy to help you improve your English! She also loves learning new languages herself, it would be amazing if we could learn from each other

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The house is a 6 bedroom, 2 (technically 4 but those don't work haha) bathroom house. You'll have your own bedroom w/ full bed, dresser, and closet space.
    As far as food goes, we can provide basics. But most foods you should plan to buy and prepare on your own.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We can probably lend you a bike :)
    We live in one of the more walkable neighborhoods of the city. There is a grocery store, park, library, gas station, restaurants, taco trucks, within walking distance of the house.
    There are also city bikes, scooters, and busses.
    Having a car in Detroit is always ideal, though. We have space for parking.

    Detroit is a great city! We have amazing architecture, lots of street art, plenty of museums, hiking and beaches at Belle Isle, skateparks, great food, and lots of live music. We can help you find things to do :)

    Lifestyle: we do go out, we drink, and are 420 friendly. But we keep it chill and we'd like you to also.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have good WiFi in most places in the house

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There is a lot of street parking so we can probably make it work

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Possibly - case by case basis

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    15 hours a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 524245283943

Comentário (2)


Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)




A cultural exchange in the beautiful Santa Ynez Valley, Buellton, USA
Help on a homestead, food forest and help with animals in Jacksonville, FL, USA