atualizado  

Earthship build located in the Rockies of beautiful British Columbia, Canada

  • Favorito 778 vezes
  • Última atividade: 17 mai. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are located on 40 acres of forested hillside in the heart of the Columbia Valley and the Rocky Mountains, just outside of Golden, British Columbia. We have built an off-grid Earthship-inspired home made entirely out of recycled materials. The home aspect was completed in 2017 after which we started on an earthship-style work shop that has also been finished in the fall of 2019. Over the past 9 years we have had many volunteers from workaways to friends and family and it has been an awesome and rewarding experience for all.

    We have slowed down the last couple of summers to focus on the new adventure of parenthood. We welcomed our daughter Nova in September 2020 and are expecting another in August 2024! While things run a bit different now, we continue to welcome volunteers for a few months each spring/summer to help with property development and maintenance with a toddler (and soon baby!) in tow!

    We live by the philosophy of work hard and play hard. Most days we do something fun or go on an adventure somewhere after work hours. Golden, Parson and surrounding areas provide great activities such as climbing, fishing, mountain biking, hiking, disc golf, and canoeing- all in a very picturesque setting!

    Our accommodations have drastically improved since we started hosting workaways in 2015 when we all lived in tents all summer. Now we have a variety of sleeping options from our beautiful forested campground, to a cozy bedroom loft in the shop, cozy cabin in the woods, or our ‘birdhouse’ camper on wheels with spectacular views!

    Meals are provided every day and if you enjoy cooking it’s always appreciated and welcomed! We have recently built a new garden for vegetables and herbs and have a deep freeze full of wild game and locally farmed meats including: chicken, pork, moose, elk, deer and beef.

    Our next project is to build ANOTHER earthship-inspired cabin made out of all recycled materials. Ground work will begin this spring with tire pounding to follow!
    Living on a large off-grid property there is always a variety of tasks to complete. Work is varied depending on our volunteer’s skills, the weather and availability.
    We are 34 and 35 years old and are very easy going, don’t like to work too hard and if it gets too hot- we are at the beach by the river instantly!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Because we have started a project of this magnitude we have less time to travel. However, we love to travel, meet interesting people and share knowledge about building and great adventure stories. You can learn what it takes to live an off-grid lifestyle, where garbage, power and water consumption are a valuable resources that needs to be managed. We can show you how to make things from nothing and build things from stuff people have just thrown away with no consideration of the usefulness of it! Volunteers are always encouraged to use what is available around the property to make things work and a lot of the time you are left to complete the task using your own ideas, creativity and knowledge. We enjoy relaxing at the end of the day around a campfire sharing stories and adventures.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are hoping to get started on a new earthship-cabin project this summer. This will require a lot of lifting and moving of wood materials and tires, shoveling dirt and pounding tires! Most things on our property are made with cob, pallets and other recycled materials, so if you like to see how easy and cheap you can throw up a structure- this is the place to learn!
    We would also like to build a new chicken coop and an outdoor play structure for Nova.

    There are also lots of smaller tasks that pop up often such as firewood collecting and splitting, gardening, brushing/fire smarting, property clean-up, and maintenance and/or finishing details on the shop, house and cabin.

    We like to operate as more of a community setting where we help each other with all tasks such as cooking, dishes, watering the garden and clean up.

    We will also need help with looking after Nova from time to time which might involve playing games, doing crafts, going on walks, going to the park, reading stories, riding bikes- while mom and dad work on some chores or projects of their own.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Cabin
    Tents
    Camper
    Shop loft
    Campground

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Golden BC
    Biking
    Hiking
    Fishing
    Earthship
    Banff
    Lake Louise
    Kicking horse
    Campfires
    Pallets

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We Have a great camping area with running water

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 hours a day. Weekends optional (max 25 hours/week)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 473881292355

Comentário (29)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.8)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.9)





































Walk and play with my two dogs while exploring North Vancouver, Canada
Help with gardening, woodworking and outdoor projects in Courtenay, BC, Canada