A bit of gardening, a bit of pet sitting in gorgeous Wellington, NZ

  • Nova Zelândia
  • Favorito 400 vezes
  • Última atividade: 08/02/2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    I live in lovely Wellington city in the sunny (and quirky) suburb of Newtown / Berhampore in a pretty double-bay wooden villa. My home is close to the centre of town (3km walk or a short bus-ride) and a few minutes walk from the shops, bars and cafes of Newtown.

    I am a single (very social) woman who runs a successful creative technology company - we build amazing mobile apps and sites for some of New Zealand's biggest companies. I am also a real foodie so can provide loads of recommendations on what to see and do in Wellington if you love cooking or eating out. I would also LOOOOVVVE to get a helper who loves to cook so I can learn about your cuisine.

    I have a gorgeous 18 month old golden retriever called George. We know some of the best walks around the Wellington region and are very happy for you to join us on our wanders and show off this fabulous city. George's best friends are my three burmese cats who love to hang out with him - as well as snuggle up to any guests in the house.

    When George was a young puppy from about 8 weeks to 7 months old I had some wonderful helpers via Workaway who helped me with a few chores in the house and garden, and also helped to house train him and make sure I didn't have a lonely and poorly socialised puppy. Since then he has made some good friends with visitors to New Zealand who have house sat when I have been away.

    I live in a beautiful old villa in Wellington. It is super sunny, and the guest bedroom the helper sleeps in is the nicest room in the house...

    No smoking, no drugs, no parties in the house.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Newtown / Berhampore is a lovely quirky part of Wellington with pretty old villas and a great community feel. I have lived in Wellington for 20 years and love this city. I always look forward to showing it off and am happy to help out with suggestions of what to do or where to go. I know a lot about the New Zealand digital sector and am happy to provide advice or help to people wanting to get established there. Beyond all that I am a real foodie and am happy to introduce you to local markets or restaurants. I love to learn about other cuisines and am happy to share what I know.

    George and I roam all over Wellington on walks so I am also happy to introduce you to some of the many fabulous walks around Wellington.

    And if you love animals - great place to be.

  • Ajuda


    I am looking for someone who can help out for about a week to 10 days (flexible on dates, could be a little shorter or longer) in December before Xmas which is both super busy at work, and a busy time in general. I have had some work done on the house and I am trying to get organised for house guests after Xmas. In the middle I have a couple of overnight trips for work.

    You must be able to be here from Saturday 8th December (morning) to ideally Sunday 16th December (anytime!) I am flexible about your time on either side of those dates.

    I will need you to be able to care for George and the cats overnight on Saturday 8th and Monday 10th, and ideally to help me out with some Xmas drinks I am having for our street(!) on Saturday 15th. Outside of that I have a short list of tasks that you can work through at your own pace while you stay with me including a couple of dog walks while I am away, waterblasting my decking and paths, some weeding and possible planting of a few plants, and a bit of spring cleaning as I think of it. Outside of that if you can cook a couple of meals and surprise me with something new I'll be happy! There will be plenty of time to get out and see Wellington.

    You must genuinely love both dogs and cats and have experience with walking large dogs. Ideally you enjoy a bit of gardening. I'd love it if you are into cooking.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    The bedroom for helpers is gorgeous. It's a lovely sunny large bedroom with a big super king bed and a bay window.

    Food, internet, comfy accommodation included. Central heating (yes!!!) Wifi, Netflix etc all included. Bus stop with great route to town right on the corner of the street. Quick walk down to Newtown shops, cafes and restaurants and really close to town (3km exactly so you can walk it).

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I promise to be very clear about when I need help. I always appreciate people just being proactive and keeping things clean and tidy. There's lots you can do around here if you want to get out and do stuff in Wellington.

    I am friendly, social and easy going and often have friends dropping by. I love dinner parties. Newtown is a great area - good walks and mountain biking around here, some fun cafes and bars as well. Really easy to get to Te Papa or other sights or to Wellington central.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 437491412941

Comentário (5)