Homesteading and home DIY in Ballymore, Ireland

Country

Irlanda

Favorito 13 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    21/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hey folks, so this summer I am doing some tasks on my old farmhouse, trying to fix it up as sustainably as possible. Removing render, repointing and then insulating it. Lots of projects on the farm, there is a large veg garden that used to be a market garden but it is on a hiatus for a couple of years while I get the house done. I have some animals, horses, chickens and dogs. A food forest, tunnels and a dome. So lots of things to do. The only real issue with staying here is that I don't have indoor accommodation for people as the house is too small and my caravan has been gutted and needs to be done up completely (though if anyone would like to come and stay and do it up, that is an option). I do have a nice big tent with outdoor hot shower, and compost toilets and a camp kitchen (as I offer camping on the farm during the summer.) So if anyone fancies a few days or weeks of hanging out, walking dogs, helping on the house, cooking from the garden and having campfires you would be welcome. There is a nice community around the farm and we are also hoping to establish a self directed school locally so there is an option to help out on that. If you come for just a few days, help will be physical and mostly labour but the place is a great spot to be and if you have your own transport its central to most spots in the country, being the exact centre point of Ireland. If you are happy to commit to a longer stay you will inevitably be involved in more projects and welcome to take on your own project as appropriate to the farm etc. Ideally I am looking for people with a high level of english as tasks can require detailed explanation and I am not always able to help alongside you because I have a young child.

    Any questions do get in touch.
    Kate

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Travellers can learn many things from being here. How to manage a small holding, what it is like to live in a very natural setting. How to start restoring an old building. What people will learn will be dependent on the individual but I believe there is something for everyone here. Natural building, market gardening, permaculture, seed saving, natural horsemanship, independent school start up. A nice community of people involved with the farm to tap into.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I mainly need help with the day to day running of the farm and helping on the house. None of it is highly skilled help, however if there are any highly skilled folk out there who are interested, carpenters, plasterers, plumbers, self builders, artists, wood carvers... all things welcome.

    In the main the farm help involves; care of chickens, cleaning coops, collecting the eggs, (there are only 10 birds its not huge), giving water and food. Same for the horses, feeding, cleaning and maintaining equipment. Watering tunnels, vegetables, planting vegetables and harvesting when necessary just for the homestead not on a commercial level. Storing and preserving depending on time of year. Cutting back hedgerows, cutting grass, weeding, composting, maintaining farm buildings, keeping things clean, painting, fixing old locks or sheds.

    The house, the plan this year is to remove the old render, repoint it with a breathable morter and plaster on a breathable insulating plaster. There may also be some cob help depending on the time you visit. The help is physical doing most of it by hand with the proper Protective equipment. This means lifting heaving wheelbarrows, shovelling gravel and the old render.

    I try to match the task to the person, so you will not be expected to do things you are not comfortable with or not suited to. However 5 hours a day is requested. Some days will be lighter than others but when tasks need to get done it is important I can trust it will get done.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The accommodation is only camping. It is a beautiful tent... its blue and waterproof. And of course I have all the bedding and mattresses and everything you will need for staying, even towels etc. If someone is interested in a long stay we discuss getting something more sturdy like a bell tent or if the right person is good at self building I have the shell of an old caravan that can be restored. While the bed will be a tent (all camping gear can be provided) there are several buildings set up for both paying and helping camping guests, a full camp kitchen with a little stove top, fridge, kettle etc.. a hot outdoor shower, compost toilets (no smell .. PROMISE) and a dome that is lovely and warm even when cold outside. In the dome you can hang out, play cards, read a book etc if the weather is bad. It is rough and ready but I hope the beauty of the farm makes up for it.

    It is a NO SMOKING farm. It is not allowed to smoke on the farm for many safety and health reasons. Apologies for any inconvenience this causes.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are a lot of great things nearby, however public transport is not great around here. Its a 5km walk to the nearest bus. Or you can get a taxi if no one from the farm is going in your direction. Usually we manage as someone goes into town regularly enough. Athlone town is a large historical town that has a castle, the river shannon running through and some nice spots to check out. Nearby is Lough Ree you can rent a boat and go out on it for a day. There are newcastle woods and the town of Ballymahon nearby. It is a 1 hr train ride to Galway, 1.5 hrs to westport or Dublin so weekend trips are easy to organise. Lakes for swimming, rivers for fishing and the great ancient Celtic site of Uisneach is close by as well.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    A small to medium campervan can park up in the yard and there is an electrical connection there for them. The yard is close to all the farms facilities. Larger motorhomes may not fit in the yard or struggle turning. Best to check with me before planning your trip.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Depending on the pet. I do have a dog that chases cats and if you have a dog it would need to be ok with other dogs, sheep (at the neighbours), chickens, horses and people.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 436118581238