Archaeological fieldwork experience in the Calchaqui Valleys, Argentina

  • Favorito 337 vezes
  • Última atividade: 8 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I'm an archaeologist working in research in the University of San Luis, Argentina. I finished my PhD in the University of Buenos Aires and a Posdoc at UNAM, Mexico. I have received volunteers for my fieldwork for several years and it has always been a wonderful experience.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You can improve your Spanish and learn about Archaeology and local culture.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    FIELDWORK IN LOMA RICA
    (preliminary dates)
    Meeting Day: April 14 in Santa María, Catamarca
    Fieldwork: April 15-26 (might be extended until May 1, but we request a commitment for the first two weeks)

    ----
    Please contact for further details and tell me about your specific interest in this proyect.
    ----

    We will conduct an archaeological dig for our research, with a very low budget but a lot of will and good vibes. The site is called Loma Rica de Shiquimil, you can find some information about it in the web as it is a very important archaeological site.

    No previous knowledge is required, but if lots of fun to share with people of all kinds and make good friends. In total we will form a group of 10-20 people, between students, local volunteers and workawayers (FYI most participants speak only Spanish, i will be able to translate and give you directions for the digging in spanish or english).

    You will receive basic archaeological training. It is a very serious task that involves contact with national and native cultural heritage, therefore much respect is demanded. It is also an exciting activity and you will know archaeological sites and have a real experience as an archaeologist.

    Previous workawayers made this beautiful video about the experience:
    -ask us for the link

    The help involves: we wake up early and have breakfast at the house. We travel by car 5 km to reach the archaeological site. We have to walk for 10 minutes and reach the remains of an ancient village. We will be working until the afternoon on the summit. We have lunch and rest one hour at about 1 pm or to be determined with the group. The tasks involve digging, using shovels, trowels, sieve, carrying buckets, etc. As objects appears (fragments of pottery, bone, charcoal) we will draw and take measurements. We also take a lot of pictures for photogrametry purposes, with drone and hand camera. We also take sediment samples and in the afternoon we will come back to the house. In the base camp we will clean the findings and organize everything. We might also perform mapping work and search for new archaeological sites. We are also working with the local community in a new museum about Loma Rica, you will be also welcome to participate in this proyect.

    Once in the house we will take dinner around 8 pm and shifts for cooking and washing dishes are required.

    ----READ THIS PART VERY CAREFULLY----
    IT'S A VERY HARD WORK!!! We will be all day in the sun, heat and perhaps sandy wind. It's a very dry environment and no water on site. No toilet in the digging site, just the nature. We will always be in contact with the dirt, thorny vegetation and insects, so it is not recommended for allergy sufferers. Although accident insurance is hired for all the volunteers, it is the responsibility of each to take precautions and you need to have your own health insurance.

    Must have appropriate clothing for the task as thick cloth trousers, hat, work or trekking shoes. Bring sunscreen.

    You must be capable of carrying weight (10/20 kg).

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Português: Intermediário
    Italiano: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    accommodation in mixed dorm-style rooms, shared bathrooms. You can cook, wash clothes by hand and use refrigerator. No wifi on the premises. Its a very simple and rustic place, nothing fancy.

    omnivorous daily meals are included: Breakfast, light lunch (in the archaeological site), dinner, snacks + fruits. Alcohol is allowed, but on behalf of each. Potable tap water.

    special diets in behalf of each.

    We ask help for cooking and to perform minimal housing.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Transportation: You must come on your own to the city of Santa Maria, Catamarca (It is two hours by bus from Cafayate and 4 hs from San Miguel de Tucuman) where I will pick you up, as we will be actually staying in the town of San José, 10 km south of Santa Maria.

    If you are in Buenos Aires, best option is to go to city of San Miguel de Tucumán (also flights from Lima, Cordoba, Mar del Plata or Santiago de Chile).

    options to San Miguel de Tucumán:
    - flight: LATAM, Flybondi or Aerolineas Argentinas
    - Bus: from Terminal Retiro (Buenos Aires) to Tucumán, several buses,

    Then from San Miguel de Tucumán to Santa María: bus "transporte aconquija"

    If you whant to keep travelling after this project, starting from San José you can reach touristic places, like Amaicha (25 km), Tafi (100km), Cafayate (80 km), and further away Cachi, Salta, Tilcara, etc. So you can easily keep your travel from there.

    Safety: In the town there are basic health services. As we will be working in the field, it is not recommended for highly allergic people. Please have your own Health Insurance.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    anyway WiFi is low during fieldwork

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 423521512995

Comentário (8)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)














Gardening, maintenance and creative building while enjoying a beach living experience in Mar del Plata, Argentina
Help in the best hostel with mountain views in Cafayate, north Argentina