A beautiful place for stillness and relaxation Monchique, Portugal

Country

Portugal

atualizado  

Favorito 131 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    14/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Bom Dia,

    An olde Portuguese house set in the quietest valley ever. One old cat (the boss!) and 2.5 hecatares of land that contains Avocado, Mangoes, Strawberry, Tomato, Ruccola (rocket) Peppers, Chillies, Apples, Lemons, Oranges and much much more, yes even Olives and Medronho! It has a river, a crystal clear water mine and 3 water pools. If you are travelling and have been working too much for too long,..this is the place for you. Wwoofing, Workaway and Helpex can be really exhausting (I know I started it 10 years ago and gave up!). Some people just see you as mere ´staff` and they will work you long and hard for little return for you. Some of the places I have lived around Monchique but also in other areas were, putting it nicely, atrocious. Treating humans like sheep, in and out, work and bye...heres a piece of grass in the winter, have a nice night in your tent while I sleep in the warm house. Bad rooms that are overcrowded and in need of a huge overhaul and remodernisation. Come relax here, tell me your stories of travelling, medidtate...not medicate, play some guitar, sing unto the hills and take some photographs (I am a professional photographer) eat, sleep and do something YOU want to here if you wish. Recharge....and be on your way...when you feel the time is right. Think of ´Medronho Hill´ as a lovely desert island in the stormy seas of Wwoofing, Workawaying and Helpexing. You can tent (its winter and are yoookrazee?!?!?) if you want, There is a spare (basic room) with mattresses and table, chair, fireplace (lots of wood here for open fires). Treat the place like your place...there is no boss here (...well maybe Rarmonkey the cat!)

    The owner (David) is in another country and is away for the next few years so I (Anthony) am looking after his land and house, Yes I could do with plenty of help, but thats your choice. I am from the UK, professional model photographer (but I do nature, and cats, too!), vegetarian, nonsmoker, play guitar and sing. I know almost EVERY place around here that wwoofer/workaway peoples go through. So you can meet me in Monchique and I will ask you ´what are you looking´ for and point you in the right direction. I also look after another place with a caravan on a piece of land with a house (on the other side of Monchique). So always plenty of options right here from me. I prefer to help people out more than just be another place on your travels...but I am cool with both. If you are in a place.....and you feel that it is just ´not you´....you need to get away from that for a while....ideal!!!! Give me a few of your words and emotions....

    Have better travels.

    Email me.

    Byeeeeee

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I can teach you how to build with straw and clay structures. You can experience the simple life, slowed right down to deep meditational breathing speed. Old school cooking with firewood and fetching drinking water from the well. Experience peoples experiences through their eyes and listen...

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Chopping trees and wood. Building clay and straw structures. Building stone walls. Planting and maintaining vegetables and fruit, so much to pick! Just day to day living really, cooking eating tidying up. Relaxing, chilling and enjoy quiet peaceful times and hours of silence to some guitar and songs. The internet reception is quite OK here. Sometimes a bit iffy, but rare. There is a great library/bibblioteca in Monchique (free 4 days a week 1000-1800hrs) I am using it now! Also 1 supermarket (Intermarche, which is quite good too, also free).

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I speak a little Portuguese and basic hello goodbye in German and French!

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    I have an olde Portuguese house (3 rooms, 1 kitchen, 1 a spare guests room...and the main room). i have lots of sleeping bags and blankets. The kitchen has electric light and running water. I have bikes to borrow but no car or driving license. The toilet is an organic compost one 🚽. The food situation is OK I have lots of pasta and tomato sauce! I drink Black Tea, but there is also Coffees, Hot Choclate and Barleycup/Malt/Cereal drinks. The olde cat (Boss) is called `Rarmonkey`!

    You will see Wild Pigs here (Javali, families with youg around) also Centipedes, and Eagles in the sky and other birds of prey.

    You will experience, stillness, quietnesss, regrounding and a sense of time reclaimed with a routine thrown into the bin....get up and go to sleep when you want....nothing is requested...if you want to create and work,...ask and I will let you know.

    Chill out on the outside´Skybed´ (in photos) in the sun.Swim in the water, Listen to the wind and look for shooting stars (the ´light pollution´ here is zero!). Enjoy your time here...

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    II have bikes. We can go together or you go alone. There is a pizza party on fridays and its 20 km down to the beach or 6 km up to the village. I expect you to be super cool and chilled. I like that. If you like nature and a bit solitude then this might be the place for you.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    If you have a roaming internet package then the reception around the house and area is pretty good for internet.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Plenty of space to park up and stay free of charge If you are quiet for as long as you want. I have 2 pieces of seperate land around Monchique.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Any pet that doesn't make problems

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    What you feel natual with zero to 1 hour, your choice

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicação: (5.0)





Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 419939691259