Help us to create an eco-friendly farm and explore Cercal do Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favorito 116 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    06/06/2022

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello, We are Cam and Vera. I (Cam) am originally from California. Vera is from Porto in the north of Portugal. We met while both living in New York back in 2016. We decided to trade in the pace of NY for the lifestyle of Alentejo. We purchased a property just outside the town of Cercal do Alentejo. It's wonderful, and we love it here, but the place has been neglected for some years and needs some tending to. I am looking for 1 or 2 people to help me care for the land, help in the kitchen while developing this into something of an eco-friendly farm. I worked as a freelance photographer for many years so I have much to learn about horticulture/permaculture, so someone with a bit of a background in that would be great but not required. Also, someone with decent skilz working with power tools and a little construction knowledge would be of good value, It's hard to make time caring for the 4hectares of land and also dedicate time to photography in this new environment.
    I originally grew up in Los Angeles and then lived in San Francisco, Buenos Aires, and then New York City. I am an open-minded person that believes in Live and Let Live. We welcome people from all over as long as they too are tolerant and accepting of people from different places, orientations, or backgrounds. I am usually always pretty upbeat and positive and enjoy meeting and working with people.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    If anyone is interested in learning about photography I am happy to share my knowledge and experiences from working as a commercial photographer in both LA and NY for the past 15 years. We can also provide a fun friendly environment from two people that have travelled much of the world.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    There are many outdoor projects; such as building a work shed of bricks, cutting and trimming trees, building a wood deck & pergola, building some new chairs out of pallets, and creating walking paths along a hillside. Much of this is physical labor but it is working in a beautiful environment surrounded by nature with a cute little town within walking distance. Having some confidence with power tools and being able to take ownership of a project is welcomed.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Italiano: Fluente
    Português: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I am currently making an effort to learn Portuguese. My wife Vera also speaks Italian, Spanish, and some French.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will be provided your own living accommodation on our property. A bedroom equipped with its own toilet and shower. There may possibly be other guests in the same house in which case you will share the kitchen and living room.
    We are flexible with food arrangements. We can provide food/meals/ingredients for 25hr of help per week, OR for those who would prefer more free time, 15 hours a week of help and provide for yourself. Your accommodation will have a proper kitchen (Fridge, stove, sink, microwave, & cooking essentials like salt/pepper oil, etc.) so you can prepare meals at your leisure. We are a short 10 min walk to town for any provisions you may need /want.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are located about 2hrs south of Lisbon and only a 15min drive to the beach. There is public transportation that can take to and from our town of Cercal to Lisbon and other neighboring towns. There are great surf breaks and cute beach towns nearby. We are also located directly along the Rota Vicentina. These are kilometers of trails for hiking and biking.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We do host digital nomads. There is a common space with decent wifi for working. The wifi here is on satellite so it's not as fast as a fiber optic direct connection. However, we have had numerous long stays that have been happy.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (5.0)











Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 643522963222