Help to us develop our little family farm in Hastings County, Ontario, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 31 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    27/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

 
  2021 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 semana ou menos

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a family of four looking for some help to us develop our little farm from its present embryonic stage towards increased community, sustainability, and overall healthy living. We are trilingual (English, French and Spanish). Mom is a mom (former teacher and Homeopath). Dad is an engineer for a nearby city and works at home. The kids are 12 and 15. The 13 year-old boy likes archery, skiing, tobogganing, reading, inventing, chemistry, technology, anything to do with water, and exploring outdoors. The 15 year -old girl likes horseback riding, reading, sci fi programs, homesteading, circus (aerial arts) and cooking. We have a 22 year old long-time homestay who is a Philosopher, distance runner and climber. She has just started at University in Ottawa, but will be coming home frequently. Mom's mom is with us, too. She laughs easily and loves to read, play bridge, garden, and speak French (which she is learning). At 79 she has decided she is a farmer and is taking on as many morning chores as she can as well taking on more kitchen duties. Mom and Dad have a spiritual and Catholic bent and are open and accepting of others. Nana (mom's mom) is more inclined to Buddhism. We give thanks before we eat but do not attend any formal services. We have three dogs, two Bernese Mountain/Maremma dogs and one Chihuahua, and three cats. All are indoor-outdoor. We have 8 chickens (laying hens), 27 rabbits, 2 female goats, and 2 sheep. We are adopting two pigs in January. We have a humble developing garden.

    We have an 13-acre property mixed zoning (marginal residential, environmental protection and marginal agriculture) which forms a peninsula accessible by a 80-foot foot bridge. We are looking for help to start the fruit and vegetable gardens, build bunkies, and animal shelters and renovate garages as well as haul and chop downed trees for the winter.

    We are not a business. We are not looking to sell anything we manage to produce, but simply enjoy eating and living more in sync with our surroundings and increasingly self-sufficient. We are all working or studying. We enjoy the land we steward immensely and most of us enjoy plentiful and flexible breaks. Families are welcome as well.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Travelers will benefit from working together with a family for a common goal, laughing, and playing. They will benefit from language exchange and learning if applicable. They may benefit from our professional background in engineering, natural health, and education that we can offer if desired.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    While experience is helpful, our main criteria is compatibility, ability, and willingness.
    For gardening: We need help to start from scratch with soil on rock that needs work. We wish to plant a large variety of fruit and vegetables, berry plants and some fruit trees.
    For DIY and building projects: We are presently building storage and animal shelters and renovating garages.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Português: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We all speak English, French, and Spanish to different degrees.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    There is a second home on the property close to the main home. That home is comprised of two (very) large bedrooms and one shared bathroom. The ground floor includes a shared kitchen, one queen bed (separated into a bedroom by dividers) , one double pull-out sofa, a table and chairs. This room will accommodate one to four people traveling together. The upper floor is occupied. Both floors have separate entrances. There is a shared 3-pc bathroom on the second floor.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    What helpers can do with their time off:

    If they have a car, they may visit Marmora (10 minutes away), Stirling (15 minutes away), Belleville (30 minutes away), Peterborough (60 minutes away), Toronto or Ottawa, each a 2.5 hour drive. There is no local transport. We go in to town the least amount possible (usually about once a week) and are happy to transport workaways within our schedule or to pick up or drop off from a local transit system in Belleville or Peterborough..

    They may go hiking, caving, cross-country skiing, kayaking, fishing, birdwatching, swimming, canoeing, jump on the trampoline, go down the zip line, star gaze, running, cycling, camping, train on a circus silk or jiu jit su mats, all at our door step. We are a peninsula surrounded by 150 acres of forest, rapids, rivers, lakes, caves and trails.

    Downhill skiing is 30 minutes away at the Battawa Ski Hill. Horse back riding is 30 minutes by canoe and hike or 30 minutes by car.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    With some notice, we can adjust our net service a bit to accommodate the needs of others. The service is not suitable for gaming or impatience but it does allow homestays and us to study and work online here, as we and our homestays have done in the past.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have one (riverfront) lot which can host one campervan. This lot is on the mainland and across the river from the main property without hydro. The campervan must have a toilet.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Friendly pets are welcome with approval and in consideration of the other four-legged residents and local wild animals.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 411962453217