Help me and my big dogs settle in Five island, Canada

  • Favorito 59 vezes
  • Última atividade: 7 abr. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello! My name is Ryan (she/they). I bought a property in Five Islands, NS last summer and have moved across the country for a change of pace. I live with my partner Shamus (he/him). I love travelling and have been a workawayer and couch surfer myself. I know how great it can be and the struggles too.

    This is kind of a combo workaway as I have 2 asks... either way, you **must be comfortable with big dogs**


    1. I need someone to look after my dogs while I'm away. I'm the Indigenous Outreach Specialist for a non-profit here in Canada. I typically travel for about a week at a time, though sometime I'm only gone 1 or 2 nights. I need someone to stay at my place and look after my 2 dogs, Ezra (boxer mix) and Leaf (doberman). Ezra is a loafy, lovey boy who has no concept of personal space. He just wants love and to give lots of kisses!! Ezra loves to rip around in the snow and play with Leaf. He’s a real good farm dog, stays close and doesn’t cause too much trouble. Leaf keeps a little more to himself, he’ll come sit next to you and stare until you pet him unlike Ezra trying to climb into your lap. Leaf is only 2 and is still a bit of a munchkin. He has to stay on the tether or leash (until the fence is built) because he likes to take himself on adventures. He loves to lounge in the sun, but he doesn’t like the cold much so when the weather sets in he'll curl up on the couch with you.

    You would not be expected to help on the house/property on these days.

    *Dog sitting days: April 25th - May 5th*

    Would ideally have you arrive around April 14th so we have time for you to get settled before I leave.



    2. I've got a small house on a property in Nova Scotia, just off the Bay of Fundy, and need some help getting it set up. Some of the things that need to be done include...
    - finishing a fence for the dogs
    - fixing up the deck
    - putting up shelves
    - fixing up the garage

    Most of the base work has already been done. I would only ask for 2 days/week working on the property, the rest of the time is yours to explore!

    I work from home so I'll pretty well always be around and will be helping with all these projects when my work day is done.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I am Metis. The Metis are one of the Indigenous peoples of Canada. As with most Indigenous peoples, much of our culture was lost due to colonization. Out of our family, I am the most connected to our culture because I have put in the effort as an adult to learn and be engaged with it. If you're interested in learning more about our history and culture, I'm happy to share.

    I am also a Reiki practitioner and shamanic coach. If alternative healing is something you're interested in, we'll have lots in common! I'd be happy to do a drum journey or tarot reading for you (especially if you make supper :) ).

    And in general, you'll get to experience Canadian life!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    1. During my time away your main responsibility will be my 2 dogs, Ezra and Leaf.

    They need to be fed twice a day and get water.
    Ezra you can let out anytime. Leaf either has to go on his tether (right outside the door) or on a leash for walks. I usually put him in and out on the tether while I’m working and then take him on a walk if it's nice out.

    That’s all there really is to it. If you leave, Ezra can be loose in the house and Leaf goes in his crate. They are totally fine to be left up to 8 hours.

    Just make sure you give them lots of love!! They can be a little stand-offish to start but they fall in love fast!


    2. While I'm getting set up, your main responsibility will be helping build a fence for the dogs and fixing up the deck.

    Building a fence for the dogs is my biggest priority as I want them to be able to have fun safely.


    I'm quite flexible with work hours and days. I just need another pair of hands.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I'm very interested in learning Spanish, but I'm open to learning any language.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    During your stay you'll get a travel trailer to yourself. There's no bathroom in the trailer, you'll have to come in the house (or pee in the bushes), but you'll have the space to yourself.

    If you're staying during a time when I'm not home, you can stay in the house.


    You're welcome to use the kitchen/bathroom/living area during your stay. I'm not much of a cook, but I can keep us fed. If you like cooking, you're more than welcome to take over.


    I've got just over 1ac of land. There's a trail coming off the back of it. You're welcome to explore the area. I'm about 4km from the ocean. We'd love to host someone who is keen to explore the area, not just hang out at the house and watch TV. When I'm free I'm happy to go adventuring together :)


    There is a general store and bazar within walking distance, but we are rural so ideally you'd have your own vehicle as there is no public transportation.


    Meals will be provided on your working days. We will take turns cooking. You are expected to feed yourself on non-working days.

    I will make sure the kitchen is stocked before leaving on dog sitting days.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I'm new to Nova Scotia and have lots left to see myself. Lets go on an adventure!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Hours can be very flexible to accommodate your work schedule.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There’s lots of space to park a camper van.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Depends on task. Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 393456299532

Comentário

Share our busy family life and help with childcare and DIY projects in Kleena Kleene, Canada
Seasonal bakery on the Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada