Help with maintenance, gardening and dogs in the Alpujarra Valley near Granada, Spain



Favorito 363 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Medalhas

    Super Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

  • Descrição


    Once again our workers did not show up!! So, we urgently need someone, preferably a couple, as soon as possible. Could you be here very soon? If so read on: we have a path to build at the side of the house - then there are some of the unfinished tasks like painting railings, doors and walls - and also planting young trees and generally sorting out the garden ready for the summer.

    Do you like wide open spaces, clean air, beautiful mountains and good company at meal times? If so this could be the place for you. We have 1.25 acres of Spanish campo land which needs attention, we are building stone walls and still developing the gardens - plus doing all sorts of things on the land like picking olives from our 25 trees. Currently we have 5 dogs (all rescue) and 5 cats. We have rescued and moved on over 125 dogs/pups in the last 5 years, it's very rewarding and they have been great fun. The dogs are outdoors with their own 'houses', they run around in a half-acre paddock. The cats are house cats so have a very comfortable life.

    We need strong fit helpers as we are both a bit past it! We like positively motivated people to help us with all we have to do, but we have fun too and in past years our helpers have been very happy and stayed longer than they had planned. We have friends here who also take helpers so we may be able to help you to your next place if you like it here. We have successfully managed to do this 3 times now.

    Our country house is in the Alpujarra Valley, half way between Granada and the coast. We let the a large part of the house as a 'holiday home' in the summer and holiday times, while we live in the 'main' house. We've done quite a bit of work on both 'homes' sometimes with the help of volunteers.

    We have over 70 trees which need to be cared for and from Nov to Feb the almonds and olives need to be picked. We have created a beautiful garden complete with pool, so there's always work to do, watering and tending for everything.

    Our volunteers will stay in their own room with bathroom, and will share our kitchen. Breakfast is provided on a help-yourself basis, but we always make lunch and sometimes supper for our 'family' on work days. We expect 5 hours help per day, 5 days a week. Usually we like to have the weekends off and helpers are free to come and go as they please, to take a packed lunch and go walking or whatever, but we like to have the evening meal together if possible as this maintains a community atmosphere.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Spain is a fabulous country with loads of history and culture. The Alpujarra Valley is stunning with a special story of its own dating back to the Moors and even as far back to the Stone Age. Granada and the coast are both within easy reach, the Alhambra Palace is a must see and the coast here is very unspoilt with small Spanish beach towns and lovely beaches.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We have ongoing maintenance work on our house and garden, plus we are constantly doing work to improve the property, for example tiling patios and rebuilding stone walls and paths. Being pensioners we increasingly need help to manage our land, animals and buildings. We need our volunteers to be practical and have certain skills that we don't have, or be able to do tasks that we are no longer strong enough to do.

    We are very easy going and do our best to make our helpers stay as pleasant as possible. We are flexible about hours and which days you work, however we like to keep the weekends quiet!
    We've had many good years with volunteers since 2014 and are now looking forward to meeting more interesting, enthusiastic and hard working people this year!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Francês: Intermediário

  • Acomodação


    A large double room (double bed) with ensuite private bathroom. You will share the large kitchen with us. Breakfast is 'help yourself' but we make lunch and sometimes supper for our workers, or sometimes food is provided for volunteers to create their own meal especially in the summer when hot food is not necessary.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Orgiva is in the Alpujarra Valley which is 1500 feet above sea level, an area of outstanding natural beauty and a paradise for walking, cycling and horse riding. The highest mountain in southern Europe, Mulhacen, is walkable for the fit, it takes about 5 hours. Orgiva is 35 mins drive from the Costa Del Sol, the nearest beach is at Motril, but there are many beautiful beaches and interesting resorts including Almunecar (Jazz Festival mid July), La Herradura, and Nerja which has several beaches.

    Orgiva is a very special place, it is very New Age, full of alternative ways of living (yurts/vans etc) including travellers and hippies. Market day is busy and full of colour and life of all sorts. We are 5 mins (2 kms) drive to Orgiva which is the nearest town, or a 40 minute walk. It is half an hour's drive to Pampaneira and Capilleira, two of the highest mountain villages in Spain. Granada, 50 mins drive, is a beautiful cultured city and the famous Alhambra Palace is a must see.
    Malaga airport is 1 hour 40 mins drive, there are two buses a day direct to Orgiva, but many buses via Granada where you change bus.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours per day for 5 days per week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 389766745596