Help build an aquaponics system in the beautiful Margaret River region of Western Australia.

Country

Austrália

Favorito 112 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    06/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are in the process of building an organic aquaponics system in a 400 sq m greenhouse. We live on 55Ha (126 acre) property in the beautiful Margaret River region. The farm is jointly owned by 4 couples in our family who want to leave a legacy for our future generations. We are trying to be as " off grid" and sustainable as possible. However we do have good internet!
    The farm is surrounded by vineyards, has heaps of forest, dams, a creek, netted orchard, lots of nut trees and some pasture. Less than 15 minute drive to pristine awesome beaches.
    Our house was reconstructed from a railway goods shed. The spare room is basic but has a king sized bed. We share the house with dogs, a cat and birds.
    Natalie works casually as a Veterinarian. John has finished a course on aquaponics farm design and is now putting it into practice. Some Couchsurfers helped build the pilot phase but now would love some more formalised help.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We will welcome you into our home and family. We are just a down to earth Aussie couple. We love meeting travellers and sharing stories. You will get to interact with some Aussie wildlife and explore areas that tourists rarely get to.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We mostly want help with aquaponic construction in the greenhouse. You don't need to already be skilled with tools. John is a great, patient teacher. However if you have no carpentry or plumbing experience it would be better if you planned a longer stay so that you get to hone your skills and warrant the training time.
    There are other projects such as building animal enclosures, chainsawing, collecting firewood, burning bonfires, pruning, building worm farms etc that you may help with too.
    We are no chefs so help with food preparation is also appreciated.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will sleep in our spare room in our 2 bedroom house. It's very basic with no window but does have a sky light. It has a king sized bed. You will have your own bathroom.

    If you have your license but no vehicle we may have one you can use to go sightseeing.

    We will share most evening meals but sometimes feed yourself. You will be welcome to help youself to the fridge and kitchen whenever you like. We tend to be very casual with eating.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    John has recently got interested in photography. He plays inline and ice hockey. We have an energetic 1 year old Golden Retriever .
    The area has heaps of caves, cellar doors, art galleries, bush walks, beaches to explore.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have fixed wireless NBN. It is reliable, 50 Mbit, limitless.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Pets considered.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    20 hours

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)








Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 387983914327