Help us at our place and live in a beautiful valley two hours from both Sydney and Canberra



Favorito 16 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Descrição


    We are an older couple, Robert and Trish, living in a beautiful valley two hours from both Sydney and Canberra. We have a small property on which we grow pretty much all our own fruit and vegetables. We have chickens and a golden lab called Harriet. Our house is made of mud brick and recycled materials, we made the bricks ourselves and Robert scavenged around for old windows and doors. He also managed to acquire old bridge timbers so although it's only about twenty years old the house looks ancient! However we have all modern conveniences and it is very comfortable.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Kangaroo Valley is a tourist destination owing to the physical beauty and the many activities available to the visitor. These include swimming and canoeing on the river, the numerous walks in the area and the proximity to ocean and beaches the nearest of which is about 45 minutes drive away. In addition there is a small but lively community living here giving opportunity to participate in a number of ways depending on ones interest. We belong to a number of different volunteer groups and any worker would be welcome to join us. Depending on the time of year Trish also make lots of jams and preserves offering a learning experience, plus we have a little backyard picture framing business which again may be of interest.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We are always in need of help with the garden but recently we have taken down many large gum trees that were a fire danger so we are looking for energetic volunteers to help with clearing up the timber. This will not involve use of a chainsaw, more dragging the branches, stacking them into a burn pile and tossing the larger logs into the back of the ute for firewood. It is hard work but very satisfying and is something we have always managed by ourselves in the past.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    We offer a private bedroom with share bathroom. There is a fairly large living area so you won't feel cramped. Our diet is mostly vegetarian using produce from the garden, but do have fish occasionally and Robert may splash out on meat once in a while. We like to eat well and there will be lots of it! Ours is a no smoking property.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    As we are fairly isolated and there is no public transport to the door, it is better if workers had their own vehicle, it is not essential but definitely preferable. We have bikes for loan and the river is at the bottom of our road, great for swimming in summer. For those who have their own transport there are so many things to do and places to see in the area. Being older we like to live quietly, plus we have no television so evenings consist of reading or games and an early bedtime.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 378962343995