Learn to build and live sustainably in The Shetland Islands, UK

Country

Reino Unido

Favorito 119 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    11/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 6 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Was a workaway guest myself, enjoyed it so much it became full time a few years ago. But now my travelling has been curtailed somewhat because of a retrieved 200 yr old cottage (in Shetland) and a garden that needs some tender loving care. I am a joiner/builder and a trained chef.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The Shetland isles has a culture, landscape and geology all of its own, not Scottish not Norse but a unique Island blend both mixed in with the Ancient Picts. the whole island is rich in archaeology.
    The only piece of arctic tundra in the British isle can be found here. Shetland is a Geo-park too, some of the oldest rocks on the planet can also be found here.
    I fish and forage the coast line for shellfish and seaweed, grow vegetables organically, am also skilled cook, and multi skilled builder mainly carpentry, any of my knowledge can be passed to you in practice, if you wish to learn.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Mainly gardening help, will need to dig up bulbs, shrubs, take tree cuttings and relocate them, extend the organic veg patch also a general clear up and reclaim of an old overgrown garden.
    On my to-do list there is some garden hardscaping, building cold frames and making some beehive design compost makers also some general maintenance of the cottage, inside and outside tasks.
    If you are skilled all the better, if you are not, training can be given, enthusiasm is more important than skill to me. The workaway guideline of 25 hours help a week will be asked for from travellers here. Cooking and housework will be shared between us all, on top of the 25 hours a week.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    A single story stone built house, 3 bed rooms available for guests, a hot shower and flushing toilet is shared in the house.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Only guests with the right to work in the UK or guests who have a work permit for the UK need get in touch.

    The local bus to town is a request stop and will stop outside the house twice a day morning and afternoon. The airport bus on the main road, 5 min walk away runs several times a day to town and back.
    The local general store is a short walk up the hill and the shoreline a short walk down the hill.
    I may be able pick you up from the ferry terminal or airport when you arrive. If there is space in the car when I go out I can offer lifts to guests too.
    Bring you own towels and don't forgot to pack work shoes/clothes and gloves.
    I smoke, but outside the house.
    Your days off are your own and if you prefer to work your 25 hours in 3 days and want to go sight seeing and stay in the hostel in Lerwick (town) or go wild camping, that is up to you. (full camping kit x2 may be made available)
    3 meals a day, evening meal shared and alternated cooking and washing up duties, fresh bread made daily (electric bread maker), or by hand if you wish to do it.
    If your passions are sub-arctic surfing, archaeology, fauna and flora, walking, geology, or just need a breath of fresh air away from the crowds, then this is the place for you, get in-touch.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    private space with a desk available and WIFI.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day or 25 hours a week.

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)






Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 359878296446