Help out on our lifestyle block in the Hunua Ranges, New Zealand

  • Nova Zelândia
  • Favorito 569 vezes
  • Última atividade: 28 nov. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas



  • Descrição


    Hello, Martin and I would love you to join us on our life style block.
    We both work from home as Martin has retired (early!).

    We are located in Hunua, South Auckland.
    In good traffic, we are 40 minutes from Auckland Airport.

    We breed Highland Cattle and Suffolk Sheep on 80 acres. We also have chickens and two Labradors. NB We often have MORE than 2 Labradors, at our home, as we doggy sit other peoples Labradors.... so sometimes it's a bit dog-crazy! Lol

    Our life style block is a very scenic piece of land that has small patches of bush, pine trees, mini water falls, rolling hills and wonderful views out to the Hunua Ranges.

    It takes 15 minutes DRIVE (max) to get to the nearest town (Papakura) where there are shops and train/bus links. A shorter drive in the other direction gets you to Hunua Village or the Hunua Ranges where there are walking tracks and a magnificent water fall.

    If you want to experience OUR Life Style life but enjoy being close to civilization then this is the place for you!

    There is always some sort of "work" that needs attention on a farm. However, apart from daily feeding duties, the weather has not been great during the last year and as such sometimes it is just not possible/safe to start some farming projects (ie fencing, spraying, digging, reparing etc)

    Please note.... YES, we are a hobby beef and sheep farm so our freezers are full of meat BUT.... Catherine IS vegetarian (Martin IS NOT)
    We welcome Vegans, Vegetarians and Carnivores!

    ANOTHER NOTE.... our farming day STARTS at 7.30am (winter) and earlier in the warmer months.... so if you are not a morning person, then this might not be the farming/lifestyle that would suit you.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are happy to share our knowledge/experience with you. There is so much you can learn about Highland Cattle, Sheep, Chickens and dog care!

    But just remember....where there is live stock there is also dead stock (sometimes this is a bit sad)

    This year (2023) we have eight calves. They are in the process of "calf training" ie getting them to trust humans and to wear a halter.

    Hay gets made in January - this is definitely a case of "many hands make light work"

  • Ajuda


    Previous Workawayers that we have hosted have done a fantastic job planting and mulching trees around our property. But there is always space to plant more!
    Planting trees/shrubs is more an Autumn/Winter job (March - August)

    Tasks that we may need help with in the warmer months (Spring/Summer - ie Sept - Feb) involve weed control and property maintenance.
    Gorse eradication is one such job. This is done by chemical spraying / cut and pasting (with a chemical) or cutting the gorse down with either a hand saw or scrub cutter.

    There is always on going stock work to do - ie drenching, castrating, docking, shearing, - this varies with the seasons.
    The Highland Cattle ALWAYS love a grooming session.

    We lamb from late July/August.
    Calving varies from year to year.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação



    For those that have been following us, I am pleased to announce that we are now living IN our new house!! (March 2021) No more shed accommodation - which is sad because it was a wonderful experience. We have so many great memories of the time we lived the 'glamping lifestyle" but now you can share our beautiful home with us.
    Down stairs we have a room "reserved" for Workawayers. It has 2 single beds (that can be made into a big bed for a couple) plus a sofa. There is toilet/shower plus a small kitchenette. And there is a small outdoor table with 2 chairs.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    As mentioned we are only 15 minutes drive from the bus and train link (PAPAKURA STATION) and I/we are happy to work in with our guests plans. We can take you to this link or take you on day trips (approx 2 hours radius from home)

    NB Hobbiton is LESS than 2 hours from us

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Dogs are fine as long as they are chicken and stock proof.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 359286745736

Comentário (28)


Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Dog walking, garden maintenance, property maintenance in Nelson, New Zealand
Join our community and help with different eco-projects in Motueka, New Zealand