Live in a 250 years old farm house and help us build a cultural center in our village, north of Frankfurt, Germany




Favorito 507 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    72.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 5 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
  • Descrição


    ---PLEASE NOTE: We are currently (especially) looking for help with building the walls of the atelier (using clay plastering. Besides we would love to have some help with setting up our homepage and social media profiles. Additionally, we would need help with producing content (mainly video material and pictures) for our online presence. For building and plastering the walls you do not need any previous knowledge, learning will happen along the way.

    We, that is Justus who is a sculptor, and Katrin who studies international social work, are building a cultural center in our village. Justus is 36 and Katrin is 29. We love traveling and enjoy nature a lot. Katrin has already worked away in Sweden and Belgium, now it´s our first time to become hosts ourselves. We are curious to meet new people, share and exchange knowledge and stories with each other, and to get to know you!

    We live in a 250 years old farmhouse, that has accommodated the family of Justus ‘grandmother during the time of the second world war. It is a house that is filled with stories and memories which we are happy to share with you. Besides, it is a fascinating building that preserved the knowledge and work of the people who built it. We live very close ( 15 minutes walk) to a natural reserve and we are surrounded by beautiful landscape with lots of hiking trails.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We live very close ( 15 minutes walk) to a natural reserve and we are surrounded by beautiful landscape with lots of hiking trails.

    Maybe you know the stories that have been collected by the brothers Grimm: They lived in this area, inter alia in Marburg, a university city about 40 km from our house. We can show you the tower that served as inspiration for the illustration of the tower of “Rapunzel”. We can also help you with learning German if you want and we are happy to try to speak other languages as well. Both of us speak English and Katrin speaks some basic Spanish and some extremely basic French.

    You will have the possibility to learn about working with materials such as lime, clay and wood. Depending on when you come, you will have the possibility to work together with a carpenter, a conservator, and a professional in building tiled ovens. Whenever there is a workshop happening you are welcome to attend.

    Besides we are curious to get to know you and happy to learn from you!

  • Ajuda


    We are in the process of building a cultural center in our village.
    The center will consist of two buildings: One large atelier with a small kitchen, a bathroom, a sleeping place for artists in residence and a large (120m²) room that will be used for work/ concerts/ theatre/ workshops….This building we are currently constructing.The other building used to be a barn and is part of our 250 years old farmhouse. We will turn it into a library with an open fireplace; a place for people to gather, read, discuss, develop new ideas, learn, exchange knowledge and maybe also for small concerts. This building will receive a new floor made from hemp and lime and we already plastered the walls with clay.

    The atelier is built from wood, with walls made from a hemp- lime mixture. Currently, we are about to finish the hemp-lime walls and as soon as we are done we will plaster them. We will use lime plaster on the outside and clay plaster on the inside of the atelier. We will begin with plastering the walls from mid- June 2021 onwards. Thereby we cooperate with a friend of ours who is a professional conservator.

    Besides, this year we will renovate some old doors and windows as well as we will newly construct some of them. Also, the shelves for the library will be built this year. All the wood-related processes are supervised by Justus's brother, who is a carpenter.

    Later in the year a friend of ours, who is a professional in building tiled ovens will come and help us with building an oven in the atelier.

    You can participate in all the above-mentioned processes and thereby learn from professionals and maybe get some inspiration or tips for your own project. Or simply try out something you have never done before.

    If you would like to learn how to turn materials such as wood and clay and lime into buildings, there are many possibilities here for you to do so. You do not need any previous experiences with clay plastering, or with working with the lime-hemp mixture to build the walls. Learning will happen along the way.

    If you would like to help with wood related-work, it would be great if you already have some experience in working with this material. If you don't have experience in working with wood but are very interested in the restoration and/or construction of doors and windows, let us know and we will figure out something together.

    Besides the work on the cultural center, there are also some walls and windows in the main house that would need some sanding and new paint.

    Apart from that, if you like to cook you would also help us a lot if you could take over the kitchen from time to time. Or if you are into photographing, graphic design, film etc. you might want to help us to document the process of the construction work or with the design of the cultural program or with some advertising? Or maybe you even like to work on homepages?

    We also have a garden in which you could help, if you want.

    There are many different things that can be done here, so what you are going to do will depend on what we are currently working on and of course on your interests.
    Just let us know what your interests are, what you already know and what you would like to learn.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    You will stay with us in a 250 years old former farm house (which is right next to where the cultural center will be). You will have your own room. We have two bathrooms in the house, you might need to share your bathroom with other workawayers and there is a second living room which you are also welcome to use ( as well as “our” living room of course). We usually eat together, trying to take turns with cooking. Besides, food is in the kitchen and when you´re hungry you just take what you want.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We live in a very small village in the north of Hesse at the border to North Rine Westphalia, right next to an area called “Sauerland”. The next train stations and Flix bus stops are in Frankenberg/Eder (15 km) and Winterberg (20 km). We have a car which you are also welcome to use if you have a driver’s license.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (4.9)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 357561556778