Help with our Alaskan Huskies in Alta, Northern Norway



Favorito 316 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    65.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 17 dias


 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

  • Descrição


    We are looking for a person with experience to help us take care of our Alaskan Huskies for the upcoming season 2022/23 from end July beginning August and until snow melts in April/May 2023. We prefer someone that is able to stay for at least 3 months as it takes time to get into all the routines and most important; time to get to know the dogs. The dogs are a part of our family and it is very important that they are happy and good taken care off.

    You need to be able to work under demanding conditions as we do dog sledding in all sorts of weather conditions and winter up here in the north can be very challenging. Working with dogs also involves long working hours in physically demanding conditions. This is not an 8 to 4 job but a lifestyle. It is important that you are reliable and is able to work both in team and independently.

    We hope you are:
    · Good physical shape with no health problems preventing you from doing physically strenuous tasks.
    · Responsible, organized and hardworking
    · Have a passion for dogs
    · Keen to learn
    · Maintenance (fencing, repairing cages, dog-houses and sled-dog equipment)
    · Should be able to see jobs that needs to be done – without having to constantly be told/directed
    · Keep calm in stressful situations

    Some of the tasks; just to mention few of them is:
    Feed the dogs 2-3 times a day
    · Keep the dog yard clean
    · Socialize with the dogs
    · Help us prepare for the training and also train dogs if we see that you are motivated enough
    · Improve the trails
    · Cut meat and prepare the dog food
    · Fix or build

    For us this is more than work and our dogs are more than dogs; they are our friends and their wellbeing is important to us.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    As we are situated outside the city center and living close to the nature there are possibility to enjoy nature and go hiking up in the mountains. In the summer you can experience the midnight sun and in the winter starting from mid September until mid April you have the Northern Lights. And you will also learn about our special way of living with our alaskan huskies.

  • Ajuda


    We need someone that is able to:

    - help out in the dogyard
    - feeding of the dogs
    - keeping the dogyard clean and tidy
    - Maintenance (fencing, reparing cages, dog-houses and sled-dog equipment)
    - improving the trails
    - during autumn and or winter assist during trainig sessions

    As you can see the list of tasks will be long but the reward is to get to learn more about dogsledding and how to take care of the huskies, how we prepare for the dograces and how much we love our 4 legged fury huskies.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário
    Espanhol: Intermediário

  • Acomodação


    You will get your own accommodation with your own kitchen and private bathroom , free access to wifi, We provide food and accomodation for workawayers.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We also have a car that can be used if available to go downtown to Alta where you can visit the Alta Museum, The Northern Light Cathedral, the library, cinema, shopping center etc. In the sourroundings of Alta there are different hiking trails. During winter you can visit the Ice hotel, go snowmobiling with us, skiing, snowshoeing or dogsledding:)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 351559145876