Family with an island home near the forest and beach on Beautiful Bowen Island, BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 67 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    12/08/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Our location:
    We're a family of four with two sweet dogs and 6 chickens living on beautiful Bowen Island. Our home is nestled among old-growth trees, essentially having us live right in the forest in a quiet neighbourhood. We have been doing some landscaping and yard building and have some great ambitions this spring to advance our garden and homestead space. This is an amazing spot for people who love to be in nature and active. We're minutes from the beach and some of the best hiking trails on the island. We live right on a bus route that takes you into 'town' and to the ferry, which is only a short distance from the mainland and Vancouver. If you have a driver's license, there is a car available.

    Who we are/What we do:
    We both work/study from home. We have two children, a 14-year-old son in grade 8 and a 3-year-old son in pre-school. Andrew (husband/father) is in grad school getting his master's in psychology with a keen interest in neuroscience and depression and has a background in developmental coaching, parent support coaching, camp, and experiential education. Chela (wife/mother) works as a developmental coach and consultant supporting leaders, entrepreneurs, and teams in their personal and professional development. We both have office spaces in the home and trade-off/share parenting.

    Our values:
    We are liberal and inclusive, non-religious but spiritually-minded and open and embracing and curious. We value open communication and respect, healthy attachment, and endeavor to raise our children with loving and conscious attention. Community and connection are important to us as well as living in a way that is as sustainable and causes as little harm to others and the planet as possible. Always a work in progress! We've both traveled and gained so much from those experiences. We met some wonderful people through hosting, both local to Canada and from various countries around the world. We know how much growth and compassion can come from travel and experiencing other cultures and we're excited to be host to those who are seeking this kind of experience and to receive the support and learning that inviting you into our home would bring!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We live in a very special community on a small island. You'd have the opportunity to meet caring people (pandemic restrictions/comforts depending) and live and play in nature, to spend time outside, and engage in healthy activity. Beyond our island are so many day trips and places that you can explore, both city and nature. Bowen Island is a quiet space, easily accessible to Vancouver, and ringed with mountains and beaches.

    Our professions are in entrepreneurship, human development, coaching/psychology and so if those are topics of interest to you or your career, there's lots of potential to learn more about yourself, this industry and your own development.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Oct 2022

    We have learned along the way as hosts what works for us. We like to carve out a schedule together that enables all of us to get into a rhythm together, and that also allows for some flexibility. The support we are seeking is:

    1. Guest room cleaning
    2. Cleaning/tidying and maintenance of our family space
    3. Cooking and meal prep
    4. Childcare (4 year old).
    5. Help with animals
    6. Home maintenance and yard/garden landscaping support.


    1. Guest room cleaning. We have a basement studio guest room for rent. This is on the same floor as the workaway bedroom. It needs to be cleaned and prepped between guests. Depending on your time availability and the other support tasks agreed to, this could be a paid role in addition to other hours.

    2. Cleaning/tidying. No matter how hard we try to keep things tidy, it seems with the coming and going and movement of our family, there's a continuous whirlwind of stuff. We would love someone proactively helping to stay on top of keeping this clean and tidy. We have a cleaner who comes bi-weekly to do deep cleans, but daily light support with tidying, kitchen clean up, some laundry (towels, 3-year old's clothes).

    3. Cooking and meal prep. This is just what is sounds like :-) We both enjoy cooking and share in this. Additional support to prep food (for lunches and snacks) as well as having dedicated dinner-making days.

    4. Childcare. Our 3-year-old is in pre-school/childcare 3 days per week. We'd need some supplemental childcare support. 1-2 have days, or a few hours here and there. We'd likely have a few hours per week that is set and a few hours to flexibly work with around other tasks/work.

    5. Help with animals. Unfortunately one of our dogs (Arbor, 6-year-old aussiedoodle) can't go in the backyard because he'll torment the chickens. Walks and playing with him would be appreciated. Our other dog, Missy, is an elderly Chow. She's slow and hangs out in the back yard as well, but loves walks and being brushed and having attention. The chickens are pretty low maintenance, but super fun!

    6. home maintenance/ garden. We plan to do some interior painting this spring as well as projects outside on the homestead (gardens, expanding the chicken run, landscaping, etc). If you have skills and experience with garden, landscaping, building and eco-farming practices, we'd be thrilled!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Interested in Spanish speaking for this coming fall as our teenage son is taking Spanish in school.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    September.
    Workaway Bedroom has a queen bed, small desk, and closet and is located in the basement suite. You access it through a secret door built into a bookshelf. It's off of a common room with a wood stove and a sofa (that you'd be welcome to use). This common room is also where airnbn guests walk through to access their studio suite.

    There is no bathroom for workaway use on this level. There is a half bath on the main/middle level as well as a full bath with bath/shower for workaway use upstairs.

    There are 3 floors to our house:

    Ground/Level Basement (as mentioned above) has both the workaway bedroom as well as a self-contained rental suite.

    Middle level is our shared family space with living room, kitchen, dining room, family room, laundry and half bath and access to the back deck and yard are on this floor.

    Top floor has all of our bedrooms and Chela's office. For workaway showering and use, bathroom is shared with the two boys.

    We have garden space, a large yard, lots of trees, a chicken coop and run, a trampoline, fire pit area, and even a treehouse you can sleep in if you're feeling adventurous. We live about a 15-minute drive from 'the Cove' where the shops, restaurants, and ferry is. We live in a very quiet and magical spot.

    Food:
    We're relatively easy with food. We buy organic wherever possible, focus on whole foods. You'll have the run of the house and kitchen, and can feel free to cook/eat whatever you like. Just let us know special requests and we can add it to the grocery list. So far, we've been happy to accommodate various diets (vegan, gluten-free, dairy free) for our past workaways.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    With your time off, there's a lot of trails and beaches to explore and you can easily travel into Vancouver and surrounding area to explore nature and city. We're happy to help you plan days and excursions based on what your specific interests are.

    Transit is pretty easy from our house. We do have an on-island car available if you have a drivers licence.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Yes for sure. For our summer spot, you'd have a whole studio suite to yourself to work from. For our autumn spot, you'd have a desk in your bedroom or you could set yourself up in the main house during the day. Lots of space to find your right spot to work.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 331763385384