Explore, enjoy horses, hike, swim, and see the Okanagan Shuswap Region of BC, Canada

  • Canadá
  • Favorito 550 vezes
  • Última atividade: 23 set. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    Hi 👋 Welcome to our profile. Thanks for dropping in.

    Now, onto the good stuff or just a little about us :-) We live on a 5 acre 6 horse, & 2 dog hobby farm, located between Enderby and Salmon Arm in the North Okanagan Shuswap region of British Columbia. My husband Mike works for the federal government and I work for a local financial institution. Our two children are ages 13 and 16, so our helpers must like sassy, funny teenagers. We are a very active family with a small property, large home and plenty of work always needing help with. I ride our horses competitively in barrel racing and our daughter also rides too. We love our home, our location and our lifestyle and would love to share our experiences with someone else.

    So what type of workawayer are we looking for? Workawayers who enjoy their time here the most, usually have these qualities:

    - is good with horses & wants to take care of them
    - is a dog lover ♥️
    - outgoing and adventurous
    - has a good sense of humour
    - enjoys being outside with nature
    - likes the lakes and water (we swim and go boating a lot)
    - independent and comfortable on their own from morning until around 4:00pm most days
    - a morning person or at least willing to get up by 8am (we have coffee and tea for those who need the caffeine boost, like me)
    - wants to experience country living and be away from large cities and night life
    - cleans up after themselves
    - is self-sufficient when it comes to meals, as you will be making your own breakfast and lunches
    - is a team player & willingness to help
    - has attention to detail, and wants to learn. There can be very specific instructions for our animals.

    A few things to mention:

    -There is no public transit (please be sure you understand what this means) from our home to larger centres.
    - We don't host couples or two workawayers at once.
    -We can accommodate a camper van or a rental car.
    - We are unable to accommodate pets
    - We don't host those who smoke or are vegan. No offence to the vegans, it's just too difficult for me when it comes to meal planning and cooking. Smoking is just gross 🤢 & not safe in our fire prone area
    - We can totally accept vegetarian 😄

    As your hosts we do our best to help you explore the area! During the summer if you want to paddle board on a beautiful lake, or hike a trail, we will do our best to drop you off and pick you up or we will join you if possible :-) Being a host is rewarding and I enjoy sharing what our beautiful area has to offer. We will also invite you to join us on adventures, such as boating or hiking, maybe even camping too.

    Let me know if you have any questions. I am happy to answer them for you 💜

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We really enjoy the cultural exchange the occurs while hosting. Not only is it rewarding to host and teach our guests about our way of life, it is just as rewarding for us to learn about different ways of living. We can share what we know about Canadian education, government, law, politics, food, religions & pretty much any else that interests you. If interested we also help you try some of Canada's culinary/beverage delicacies such as Poutine, Nanaimo Bars, S'moores & a cold Caesar.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    So what type of help do we need?
    Spring, summer & fall consists of mostly outdoor help.

    This can include but is no limited to:

    -feeding horses
    -cleaning pens
    - picking rocks
    -cleaning stalls
    -fence maintenance
    -organizing tack room
    -packing and unpacking the horse trailer, polishing tack
    -grooming horses.
    -gardening & weeding
    -lawn care & plant care
    -painting projects
    -splitting fire wood with an automatic wood splitter
    -grooming riding arena

    Other duties anytime of year include housekeeping duties with multiple tasks and a variety of tasks such as:

    -House cleaning
    -baking cookies/treats
    -cooking meals or meal prep
    -general light duty maintenance.

    During the winter, there are some additional winter specific chores:
    -snow blowing
    -shovelling snow
    -salting the walkway
    -bringing firewood to the house
    -keeping the fireplaces burning so the house stays warm.

    We do our best to serve good food and we try our best to make our home warm and inviting. Our kids are both in French immersion school, so any bit of French is always great too!

    During spring, summer and fall, no matter what your riding level, if you’re interested in riding, you will have the opportunity to ride.

    In the winter I do ride but it's cold and not always easy to do or enjoyable, as it's cold. I ride in the winter not because it's fun or nice, but because I need to exercise my horses.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Only our children are fluent in French. Although a little shy to speak it to someone who is French. I am always interested in learning about other languages and we would be willing to help you learn English. Mike and I only know very few words of any other languages but we will have fun trying to learn.

  • Acomodação


    We live in a large log home. It is approximately 3600 sq or 335 square meters. Welcome to Canada where we use metric and imperial at the same time to confuse us all 😂 You will have your own bedroom with a queen size bed, a large closet and views of the mountain. There is a large outside deck and a hot tub for your enjoyment. We also have an outdoor fire area to enjoy.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Visit SilverStar Mountain Resort
    Cross country ski at Larch Hills Cross Country
    Hike the Enderby Cliffs
    Enjoy the shores of Shuswap Lake
    Visit Margaret Falls
    Go ice fishing on Gardom Lake
    Check out Shuswap Trail Alliance (hiking and mountain biking trail maps)
    Visit wineries
    Enjoy the many lakes
    Float the Shuswap River
    Shop at a local farmers market

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have fibre optic high speed internet so you’re welcome to work on your own projects on your own time.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 315527933474

Comentário (9)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Head for the Hills and help us out with house, garden and hobby farm projects near New Denver, Canada
Join us and help on our horse acreage, Alberta, Canada