Help families and teenage mothers in need and live with a local family in Masaka

Country

Uganda

Favorito 70 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    21/05/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    593

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello future workawayers!

    We are Fredie and Stella, a married couple with 3 small children. We stay in Masaka, about ten minutes away from the town center in a quiet and safe area. We work with families in need, young couples and teenage mothers.

    In Uganda, teenage pregnancies are a big problem due to sexual abuse and little knowledge about pregnancies and the risks that come with it such as diseases, abortions and because of that, loss of lives. Often, young teenage mothers are seen as a shame for the family and therefore chased away or treated in a bad way. That is where we take action.

    We encourage the teenagers to discover their inner worth and teach them skills such as making crafts, candles and books and doing bakery (see the pictures) in order for them to become self sustainable. During the day we help to baby sit their children as they learn skills and also do home visits in families.
    We teach the families and talk to the parents so they understand the situation their daughter is in and can accept her pregnancy.
    We also prepare young couples for their marriages and help them in their faith.

    Right now, we are in the process of building a home for teenage mothers that have been chased away and are homeless.
    We also do some gardening around the area and plant ginger.

    For more information, you can check out our website !

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Trabalho beneficente
    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
    Ensino

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You can learn and experience the hospitality of the region, visit the lake shores, learn how to plant and harvest crops like maize and beans, coffee and banana plantains (a special type of bananas).
    You will get involved in family activities, attend with us social events such as birthdays, weddings ect. Learn from different couples when we meet twice a month and be part of our family.
    If you like, you can also visit the local wild life in the game parks. This will be on your own cost though.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We require people who love to play with children, are good at encouraging or bringing a smile on someone's face. Any practical skills which can be easily taught are a bonus, in areas such as music, cooking, computer, arts and health.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Luganda, Ganda: Fluente
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will be staying with our family at our home. Food will be provided in the house, we share what we have. You will have your own room and we will provide you with a mosquito net. We also have a guitar at our house so if you like playing it, you are welcome to do so.
    Note that the restrooms are shared, we have a pit latrine but we are working on having running water inside the house as well. Hot showers are possible though :)

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    In our faith, we find our motivation to help others in need. If you want, you can attend the catholic masses with us every week.
    The workawayers can visit some of our friends and family in the free time. They can be taken to lake shores, the beach, go for sports and music shows.
    Transportation will be by family car.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 311128954634