Permaculture and herb garden help at monastic community in Valldal, Norway

Country

Noruega

Favorito 69 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    22/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 5 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are an international Monastic community of Orthodox Christian Nuns, with roots in Greece. Our Sisters are from various countries (Greece, Norway, England, Russia, USA, and others). We are located on a farm in a mountain village near Valldal, with a view of the magnificient fjords. Our main occupation is keeping the daily and festal services of the Liturgical year, which encompasses ecclesiastical arts, Byzantine music, spiritual literature, and hymnography, but we spend time also cultivating the farm, especially for herbs, because we produce all-natural, handmade healing balms and soaps.

    We are looking for help with manual labor on the farm, on which the Monastery is located. Specific projects for Spring/Summer 2022 include 1) cutting grass/weeding and planting flowers and herbs which attract bees (the month of May--this is especially manual labor, because the field is steep, and we cannot use machines there), vegetable gardens (weeding, planting, watering (May-September) 2) pruning and caring for the hazelnut and apple trees (May-September), collecting herbs, roots, berries, flowers, such as pine, dandelion, St. John's Wart, fir, juniper, wild blueberry, etc. (May-October), which we use in our handmade products, 3) cutting trees, cutting firewood (May-November). Guests are requested to participate in the program of the Monastery. If guests do not wish to attend Church services (every day 07.00 and 17.00), they are free at this time, but still they are requested to particpate in common meals "Trapeza" (every day 10.00 and 18.00). As long as we have resources available, every Trapeza provides a cooked food, salad, fruit, bread. In periods/on days of "fasting" prescribed by the Church (Great Lent, Wednesday, Friday, etc.), the cooked food does not contain meat, dairy, eggs, fish, oil. In periods/on days where all foods are allowed, the food may contain meat, dairy, etc. The hours between common meals are designated for work projects (10.30-16.30). The Sisters will accompany, demonstrate, and explain to workers the task at hand. Please be prepared to accept any of the above mentioned tasks, and to dress modestly. We accept couples, but men and women will sleep in separate rooms. Camping is allowed. No smoking on the grounds of the Sacred Monastery. Please expect to work in groups with Sisters, with other volunteers, and also alone.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    How to work with other people from various countries. Have an insight to daily Monastic life. Be able to develop their skills and knowledge in the framework of the tasks and activities described above.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Foraging, collecting wild berries, herbs, roots, nuts. Vegetable, herb, flower gardens. Permaculture farming. Weeding. Forestry work: cutting trees for firewood, forest mainentance. Fruit trees. Cutting grass on the mountainous farm. Fence-building, fence maintenance. Digging trenches for storm water drainage. DIY furniture restoration and painting.

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Greek: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Norwegian: Fluente
    Russo: Fluente
    Italiano: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    A private bedroom, which may be shared with other workaways. A common bathroom. Camping is allowed.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Much sight-seeing, hiking, fishing, skii

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)








Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 299332897779