Help with daily life as one of the family near River, 25 mins from Boston, MA, USA

Country

EUA

Favorito 111 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    23/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 9 dias

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I live in a large house nestled in the woods 23 miles west of Boston near the Sudbury River. A retired high school science teacher, I have lived in this house since 1957. It is fully equipped and spacious, surrounded by a number of acres of woods (mainly white pine and red oak trees).

    Now 89, I need some help with keeping the place going and with weekly household chores -- taking out the garbage, various household repairs as needed, some housekeeping/cleaning, and simple meal preparation. I would also like someone to help me with crossword puzzles, playing cards, and keeping my brain active.

    Workawayers will be treated like one of the family. This is not a business of any kind. It is a private home where the elderly homeowner host needs some assistance with simple chores she can no longer do by herself and general basic maintenance of the house and property.

    If you have experience, that is great but not required. You would be given thorough guidance about both and my son can teach you everything you need to know. I also have a live-in caregiver and my son would be in charge of all repairs projects that need a helping hand.

    By the way, everyone here has been fully vaccinated for Covid-19.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Companhia para idosos
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Workawayers will have the opportunity to learn some carpentry and handyman skills and general home maintenance. If interested in gardening, there is also plenty of space to do that here if you want. If English is not your native language, you will also have daily opportunity to improve your English. And if you speak French, you can do that with me as well if you choose. (I speak both English and French fluently.) On days off, there is a lot of American history to explore because the Boston area is where the American Revolution took place in the late 18th century. There are numerous historic sites, museums, and architecture. This house is also very near a beautiful river and two wildlife refuges with hiking trails.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I need help with keeping the place going and with weekly household chores -- taking out the garbage on time for pickup, various household chores and repairs as needed, some housekeeping/cleaning, and simple meal preparation. I would also like someone to help me with crossword puzzles, playing cards, the DVD player, TV, and radio, and language exchange -- all to keep me engaged and my brain active.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I grew up in Illinois and speak English fluently. Having studied French for many years at a young age and having then studied biology in French at the University of Geneva in Switzerland, I speak French fluently. I taught high school science in French in Istanbul and in Rome -- and have also taught French language in high schools in the USA.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You would have your own private room with closet, built-in desk, and sliding glass door to the outside. The bathroom with tub and shower is one door away off the hall -- shared with just one other person.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    NO smoking (of anything)
    NO firearms
    NO drugs
    NO excessive alcohol consumption

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    As long as a Workawayer's online work can be done on a flexible schedule, this would work out fine. If the Workawayer needs to clock in online for specific hours on specific days and can not come and go from the computer as needed, then it might not work. WiFi is good.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    VW Vanagon size vans could be parked here but nothing really large.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Well behaved, house-trained, and calm dogs who do not run around the house or jump up on anyone or anything are welcome. I love dogs but, at 89, I must be very careful not to have a dog knock me over. My balance is not good. I am not able to host cats as I am allergic to them.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 296136124833