Help around our home in Andalucia, Spain



Favorito 60 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

  • Descrição


    Hi, we are Bev & John, a young at heart British couple late 50’s. John works in aviation as a contractor throughout Europe and I have swapped my career in sales and marketing for rural Spain. We left France 7 years ago and bought our rural andalucian home situated in a very traditional Spanish farming village . It had been our dream for 10 years to have a home here and after looking at different parts of Andalucia, we finally settled in the Jaen Province but we are still only 40 mins from Granada and not that far from Cordoba and Seville. The tranquillity and cultural experiences have been fulfilling and we enjoy every single moment of it – even in the winter! We have nearly 4 acres of land – of which most is looked after by a local farmer who grows his animal feed and we are surrounded by olive groves with fantastic views of the local Sierras. We have two small terrier X dogs that we rescued in France that have BIG personalities and a new addition Joey a fox-terrier X which is a rescue dog from a local village so volunteers will need to love our babies and not have any pet allergies.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    This placement gives volunteers an excellent opportunity to visit a beautiful and unspoilt area of Spain, rich in Moorish history and with many places of interest nearby.

    We are located at around 3000ft above sea level. We enjoy superb views of the Sierras, clean air, zero light pollution , little traffic except for farm machinery, Moorish Castles, architectural buildings and facades, Roman remains, welcoming locals, authentic Spanish cuisine, bars serving free tapas with your drink excluding coffee/water and a relaxed way of living. The list is endless. If you are interested in hiking, walking, cycling, photography painting, birdwatching, then this area will keep you busy in your free time or you can just chillax - whichever suits you.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We have a 5 bed house, 2 bed Granero and 1 bed casita that doubles as a studio. Winters here can be severe in terms of temperature and we can experience -10C during Jan and Feb. This in turn means that we have a program of works for the repairs that the winter brings which involve replacing plaster, tiles, painting etc. 2018 means that we have to repaint the house, Granero and Casita and all the black ironwork that goes with it too - which is a lot! There is also the landscaping and weeding and keeping things in good order. That covers the outside, there is also repairs and decorating to do in the inside too and the weather will determine what gets done first. This placement is demanding and would suit individuals or a couple that and are strong, physically fit and have experience using a chainsaw, strimmer and cement mixer and used to doing some low level construction. Painting and wood treatments both inside and outside will need to be completed too. Some ladder work may be required in reaching some areas for painting. There is also help needed keeping the garden tidy and weed free and clearing drainage channels.
    Common sense, initiative and being a tidy volunteer is essential for this placement.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    The accommodation during your stay will be our fully equipped Granero. It has everything you need to make your stay with us comfortable. We will provide all linens, and towels. There are two double bedrooms, one with ensuite and the other has access to a large family bathroom with a walk in shower. The Granero has a woodburner for the cooler evenings and for entertainment there is a flat screen tv with tv channels streamed through the internet. There is wi-fi, DVD player, CD player and a library of music and DVD’s to enjoy. If you wish to self cater, the kitchen comes complete with all the utensils, crockery and cutlery you will need and the gas hob and electric oven makes cooking a breeze. There is a full size fridge freezer to store all your foodstuffs. The Granero is our holiday let, so please treat it with respect. You will have access to a washing machine and if the weather is warm enough, the pool will be open too. If you wish to eat with us - you will enjoy home cooked food and we do not cater for vegans or vegetarians.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are 7 kilometres from our nearest architectural and moorish town (20,000+ pop) which is steeped in history and has all the amenities you could wish for. Public transport to the town is virtually non-existent except for the school bus – which is very early but a taxi is around 8 euros each way or you could do the old fashioned way and ‘thumb it’ and you will most likely get a lift in. We have a bus station in the town that will take you to Granada and to Priego de Cordoba of which both are lovely places to visit. We will be happy to provide lifts into our local town when we make a trip or if you are feeling fit enough you can cycle – but the landscape can be quite challenging.

    It is unlikely that this placement would suit 'party animals' who enjoy crowds and noise, as we are in a working farming village where the only activity is the annual fiesta and when the olives are being manicured and harvested. However, if you appreciate clean air and the tranquility of being in a rural environment, zero light pollution and a night chorus of wildlife and cicadas then you will love it here.

    We prefer volunteers over 25, friends or a couple that are respectful of their surroundings and will enjoy the peace and quiet.

    We are flexible with meals – we can provide meals or you have the option to self cater in the fully equipped Granero - whichever suits. There is no smoking in the Granero.
    If you happen to have any I.T. skills - help with our website would be appreciated.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    20-25 hours a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 276275585312