Immersive family farm experience in Victoria, Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 494 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    30/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    374

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    91.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Join us and be wrapped in the warm care of a homesteading family for 2-3 weeks (or more if its a good fit!), with healthy home-cooked meals, locally-harvested teas and foods, lego sessions with the kids, snuggles with cuddly pets, and good sleeps on a queen sized memory foam bed. Our farmstay is best described as a truly immersive experience and is suited to 1 or 2 people who want to experience the day to day realities of living in relationship to the land and participating in family life, focused on the values of deep ecology, Indigenous wisdom and reconciliation, decolonization, magic, seasonal living, and imagining and investing in a beautiful and safe world for future generations.

    We live on 3 acres of mixed crop fields, woods, ponds, fruit trees, gardens-in-the-making and a lovely skyline. This is the fourth property we have hosted helpers on, and its our favorite way of 'staying home' while connecting to the world. We grow hemp in the fields and food in the garden using permaculture and regenerative land practices. We also have a sweet dog, two cats, and from time to time some different farm animals.

    We love hosting as it brings different cultures, worldviews, languages, art, cooking and friendships into our lives when we have stopped travelling in favor of a localized land-based life.

    Important: When you message us, please share a little bit about how you resonate with our profile. We do not respond to messages that only say your name and when you want to come. For best results let us know:
    - Your interest in spending safe and quality time with children
    - Your interest in participating in family and household life
    - Your ability to work and learn with a good attitude
    - During Covid19, how you are staying safe and reducing exposure and if you are vaccinated

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Our family is mixed indigenous and european descent. Staying with us you'll learn about indigenous resurgence, Canada's colonial history and the current work of reconciliation, and being in relationship to the land. You'll also have the opportunity to learn about permaculture, organic gardening and hemp farming. We are an alternative family who focuses our energy away from mainstream culture and values, and towards a life-sustaining society that promotes diversity, inclusivity, resilience, holistic health practices, and deconstructing the patriarchal, white supremacist extractive capitalist systems of oppression that impact us all. We do this through compassionate inquiry and a trauma-informed approach.

    We are the #83 bus route. We also offer to take you on adventures such as forest walks, town trips, and beach trips. Nearby you’ll find parks and trails, the world-famous Butchart Gardens, ocean access with kayak and paddle board rentals, coffee shops, thrift stores and more.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Typically, we ask for help with routine garden, farm, and homestead tasks. These can include shoveling dirt, compost and wood chips, weeding the fields and pulling invasive plants from the woodland, trail and path maintenance, plant care (pest checking, fertilizing etc.), fence maintainable and general yard care.
    Inside the kitchen is a constant work zone and we usually ask for general kitchen help from food production to cleanup.
    On rainy days we may ask you to do a household cleaning project, and sometimes we may ask you to do random once a season chores like cleaning a vehicle, doing a freezer inventory and so on.
    Our kids, age 7 and 10, also appreciate if you spend some time with them sharing your skills and passions or engaging in one of their favourite activities such as art, music, basketball, soccer, Uno, lego or boardgames.
    Basically, you’ll be involved in every aspect of running a family homestead! And in everything we ask you to do, we usually share a teaching or two about WHY as it relates to permaculture, regenerative and restorative land stewardship, and inter-species relationships!
    If you have special skills we can also talk about setting you up with specific projects (such as restoring a 1975 Mercedes’ bus, helping fix up an old barn, building new garden beds, art installations etc.).

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Private room with a queen bed, shared bathroom, kitchen and living room.
    We offer healthy whole foods (minimal packaged or ready-made items), and ask you to purchase any special items we don’t normally supply. We eat minimal wheat & dairy, and try and only eat sustainable and ethically raised/harvested animal products.
    We have some water challenges and provide instructions on saving water, including limiting showers to five minutes.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We can pick you up from most locations in Greater Victoria including ferry terminals and airports.
    We prefer to receive new folk on Thursdays or fridays.

    Our place is best suited for people who truly want an immersive west coast family farm experience. We expect workawayers to be resourceful, independent, mature, healthy, courteous, and adaptable. We generally do NOT like to host people who want to spend all the free time in their rooms or online, or people who do not have an ethic of reciprocity and responsibility.

    We offer references to those seeking jobs in Canada and worldwide and have provided reference letters and reference phone calls to many of our helpers.

    *ABSOLUTELY no tolerance for cigarettes/vaping/commercial tobacco.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Workawayers can work from home in their off-hours but any intensive bandwidth use needs to occur in the evenings so that the wi-fi signal is strong for our work-from-home day time use.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Pets must be clean, de-flead and de-wormed, and be safe with children and other pets.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (5.0)
























Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 269138193598