Help us create an organic garden and share our folk culture in Valdres, Norway

Country

Noruega

Favorito 448 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    06/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    551

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We have concluded our season this year.

    We are doing the foundational preparation for many projects. All these projects are planned to stretch over several years. We need someone to assist in our building projects. We generally have several Workawayers, so you will not be alone.

    WORK PROJECTS FOR NEXT YEAR

    Gardening is work that goes throughout the season.
    We have plans for a large Visiting / Show / Vegetable garden; this will progress this summer.

    We hope to advance on a few building projects, so we will need assistance from Workawayers that have skills that can assist us in construction:

    We intend to build an above ground root cellar. This will be made of concrete blocks with grass roof (like a Hobbit house).

    LONG TERM PERSPECTIVE
    We have started preparation to build a tiny “Workawayer village” consisting of several small cabins. Workawayers have been housed in a camping wagon until now, but for the future we would like them to have special accommodation. This will not be completed this year.

    Where are we?
    We have a smallholding in the district of Valdres, near the central mountains of southern Norway. Our farm lays a three hour drive north of Oslo, between two National Parks, and with a splendid view over the majestic Jotunheimen Mountains. Valdres is well known for its culture. We have rich food and craft traditions and also strong traditions in our folk music. Valdres has six of Norway’s remaining medieval wooden stave churches.

    Our little farm is only eight minutes away from the Beitostølen ski resort. In the summertime our area is perfect for biking, hiking and canoeing. Being rural, we’re still not far away from pubs and restaurants. We hope you will join us hiking in the mountains.

    We have a low income, but we chose to provide our Workawayers with good food. We also like to take trips around the mountains & fjords to reward them (and ourselves).

    We speak English and the Scandinavian languages. Our German is embarrassing
    In the evenings we both like a glass of beer or wine, and we would enjoy your company.

    What are we up to?
    We are pursuing a BioChar / carbon capture scheme. Our goal is to promote carbon capture through new gardening techniques (save the world!) We hold courses in the production and use of biochar, in addition to providing gardening accessories. We are also trying to promote the use of pro-biotics in gardening, which is totally new ground in Norway. We are gradually building an exhibition garden to show the benefits of these techniques. This is a big job that is just started, and will not be finished this year.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    A Workawayer with a genuine interest in culture will benift from a stay.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Cooking and basic housekeeping is a part of daily life. All must do their share, so you will be asked to help out in the kitchen and with housecleaning. Normally this is not considered helping time, but exceptions are made for extraordinary housekeeping or housecleaning.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Our house is small, so we have bought a used camping wagon with a good standard for your use. We will share bathroom. The rest of our home is at your disposition, but you also have the possibility of privacy and retreat in your wagon.

    The wagon is fine for one person. Two friends or a couple should get along nicely.
    We will provide all meals, but we do not have the capacity to provide separate food requirements such as Halal, Kosher, Vegan etc.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We also love our Mountains, we hope you will join us hiking in the mountains once a week.

    We have reasonably good bus transportation nearby.
    A bicycle will be at your disposition, and we also have a canoe that you may use.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)



















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 258754536458